[an error occurred while processing this directive]
History of the Fallasburg Covered Bridge
In the year 1871, the town of Fallasburg celebrated the opening of a new bridge across the Flat River. This bridge is still standing and in use today. Four other bridges had preceded this bridge, but they had been narrow and rather flimsy and had not lasted long.
The first one had been built in the Spring of 1839 and after being repaired several times, the structure was replaced, in the year of 1844. This bridge was to last only 5 years before a third bridge was built. Constructed in 1849. This bridge was a more hardy structure as was to last until 1860, when a fourth bridge was built, this primarily being a reconstruction of the third bridge.
This bridge, constructed by Jared N. Brasee for a cost of $249.50 lasted until the spring of 1871 when an ice jam damaged the understructure and the west section of the span dropped into the river.
Early in the summer of 1871 work commenced on the present structure. Jared N. Brasee and Company constructed the new bridge and the Bridge itself stands as proof that it was well built. Constructed of White Pine grown near Greenville, including the original abutments. Located at the waters edge at the river's normal height. These timber abutments were repaired several times and were finally replaced by concrete abutments in 1905. The total cost of this structure was $1500.00.
In January of 1945 the Kent County Road Commission repaired and strengthened the bridge at a cost of this structure was $3000.00, twice the cost of the structure built in 1871.
The signs, which were placed at each end of the present bridge by F.A. Geill in 1872 are still in place, and although they have been painted many many times, the wording remains the same as in 1872, which read, "$5.00 Fine for Riding or Driving on this Bridge Faster than a Walk.."