Kent County Michigan GenWeb Project
Kent County Michigan
Master Cemetery List
 

*************************
This is a very big page -- we've been very lucky in gathering information! Give it a moment to load!

NEW INFORMATION:
April, 2013 - the following cemeteries in Kent County have a map showing the location of graves.
Those cemeteries are:
Byron Twp. - Boynton, Winchester and Winegar Cemeteries
Cascade Twp. - Cascade Cemetery
Gaines Twp. - Blain and Dutton Cemeteries
Grand Rapids Twp. - Martin and Mason Cemeteries
Kentwood (Paris Twp.) - Pine Hill Cemetery
City of Lowell  - Oakwood Cemetery
Cedar Springs (Nelson Tp.) - Elmwood Cemetery
Plainfield Twp. - Plainfield Cemetery
City of Walker 9Walker Tp.) - Brooklawn Cemetery
City of Grandville (Wyoming Tp. ( - Grandville Cemeter
y

http://regis-apps.gvmc-regis.org/cemeteryfinder/

***********************************


Index to Border Cemeteries by County on our website.
 For further information on the bordering counties RootsWeb sites:
AlleganBarry IoniaMontcalmMuskegonNewaygoOttawa

MiGenWeb Tombstone Transcriptions
http://www.rootsweb.com/~cemetery/michigan/mitable.htm 
Includes the Michigan National cemeteries - Fort Custer and Great Lakes.


Common Abbreviations Found in Cemetery Records  
Alphabetical List of Cemetery Names Including Locations  
List of Cemeteries by Township Including Locations
Township Maps with Location of Cemeteries
  Understanding this ListTranscription Volunteers Religious, Ethnic or Other Associations • 
Other Notes
Bibliography of Sources • 
How You Can Help

Find-a-Grave: Browse by City: Grand Rapids
Pictures of graves of famous people buried in Grand Rapids.
The Political Graveyard: Kent County, Michigan
Lists burying places of politicians


Understanding the Kent County Master Cemetery List

Cemetery: The "official" name of the cemetery, or the most common one, or the contemporary one. This is somewhat difficult to decide on (and it's only really "official" according to us), but between the multiple sources, something could generally be selected.

Alternative Name(s): Old names, other names found in the records, common mis-spellings, etc.

Section: Section of the township that the cemetery is in. The cemeteries are listed by township.

Street Address, Office Phone: The street number and name if known, city if known, office phone if available, major cross streets if known. For many cemeteries no number is known for the street address.

Ownership: Whether the cemetery is owned by an association, a family, the village, the city, the township or a corporation.

Owner Contact Information: If the cemetery is owned by a village, city or township, their contact information is listed here, as is the contact information for any cemetery where it is different than the street address and phone number

Transcriptions: List of known transcriptions of this cemetery, i.e. an individual or group visited the cemetery and recorded all of the stones. See below for transcriber codes. The year of the transcription is next to the code for the transcriber. Notation also made if some kind of record for the cemetery is available through the LDS Family History Centers. Visit http://www.familysearch.org/ and search the catalog for the exact record.

Record Sources: Documents which resources noted the existence of this cemetery, and listed the various transcriptions, etc. The main sources were the Michigan Cemetery Compendium by HAR-AL, Inc., the Michigan Cemetery Sourcebook produced by the Library of Michigan, the DAR's Gravestone Records of Kent County held at the G.R.P.L. and various websites. The guide to the cemetery transcription/record source listed by number with the Sourcebook is online at this site. Transcribers who prepared D.A.R. transcriptions for online presentation are listed next to the D.A.R. entry.

History: Short description of the history of the cemetery and/or link to same.

Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Whether associated with a particular religious group or ethnic group, or a social association, such as the Masons or the American legion.

Description: Cemetery active or inactive, abandoned or well-cared for, accessibility, appearance of cemetery, condition of stones, buildings on-site, etc.

Explanation:  The terms - Potters Field, Permit Ground and Old Permit Ground -
Potters Field - A burial place within a cemetery where those who were poor were buried.
Permit Ground and Old Permit Ground mean the same thing - You could pay $1.00 for a burial permit.  It didn't matter if you were
poor or not.  You were able to do this.  Usually these burials were in the same place as the Potters Field.  You could put a stone on
the grave. 
In Oak Hill Cemetery there are burials where there have been found no permits so it is not known where these people are buried
and if there is no stone, there is no way of knowing where the grave is.  In Oak Hill Cemetery, the Potters Field/Permit Ground places are in the southwest and the southeast corners of the cemetery.
(This information was obtained from the Grand Rapids Public Cemeteries Office.)


Transcription Volunteers

Transcriber Codes:
AC = Anna Conley
AN = Angela Nyburg
BG = Bruce Gerber
BJ = Barbara Jones
DH = Don Harvey
DCM = Debbi Carpentier Manni
DM = Debbi Manni
DT = Diane Teelander
DZ = Dennis Zank
EHM = Edward Harvey Mohneke
ES = Evelyn Sawyer (Readings available in booklet form. For sale by WMGS.)
GR = George Rodgers
HB = Helen Brown
JCD = Jeri Cooper DeVries
JG = Jennifer Godwin
JH = Jamie Hillegonds
JOC = Jennifer O'Connor
JP = Jolene Pell
KB = Karen Blumenshine
KC = Katie Cook
KJ = Kathleen Johnson
LDG = Lois DeGraaf
LGG = Lois Gray Goodell
LT = Laurie Tanis
MDR = Mary Del Rivette
MG = Margaret Gillis
MT = Mary Travis
MM = Michelle Manni
SGD = Susan M. Gates Davis
RA = Ronnie Aungst
RB = Ryan Bloomfield Eagle Scout
RK = Rebecca Koford
RS = Robyn Sturtevant
TM = Tom McCormick
TVP = Tammy Van Putten


Religion, Ethnic or Other Associations Cemeteries With Burials of This Type
Polish Holy Cross, Mount Cavalry, St. Andrew's
Lithuanian Lithuanian Freedom, Sts. Peter and Paul, Mt. Cavalry, Woodlawn
Mennonite Bowne Mennonite, possibly White Swan
Catholic Assumption, Harvard St. Margaret's, Holy Cross, Holy Trinity, Mount Cavalry, Resurrection, St. Andrew's, St. Mary's (Cascade Twp.), St. Mary's (Nelson Twp.), St. Mary's (Vergennes Twp.), St. Patrick's (Caledonia Twp.), St. Patrick's (Grattan Twp.) St. Sebastian's, Sts. Peter and Paul, Woodlawn
JewishJewish Oakhill, Achim
American LegionBlood
Military VeteransVeterans'
Potters' or Paupers' Fields
(Burial of the indigent.)
Fulton Street, Washington Park, Kent County Poor Farm

Other Notes
Bibliography of Document Sources:
How You Can Help

Kent County Michigan Master Cemetery List


ADA TOWNSHIP - T7N R10W

Cemetery: ADA CEMETERY (Sign, Entrance Arch, Marker for Rix Robinson's Wives)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 28
Street Address: North side of Grand River Drive, west of Ada, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Ada Township, 7330 Thornapple River Drive SE, PO Box 370, Ada, MI 49301, (616) 676-9191, FAX (616) 676-5870, Business Hours: M-F 8-5
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (TVP), ES1995.  Cemetery Lot Owners
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (7,12), DAR, WMGS.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: This cemetery location is on Fulton St. (M-21) on the front entrance and the back entrance is on Carl Dr./Grand River Dr. It is built on a very steep hill so get your hiking shoes on! A very narrow paved road leads from front to back of this cemetery with the new headstones located towards the Fulton St. entrance and the older stones to the back at Grand River Dr. Extremely hilly with lots of trees. Well maintained and I didn't see any damaged stones although some had weathered. Many monuments. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999.) Famous Kent County pioneer Rix Robinson and his two wives are buried here.

Cemetery: FINDLAY CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): North Ada Cemetery, Finley (?) Cemetery
Section: 9
Street Address: Intersection of Two Mile Road and Cramton Road, Ada, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Ada Township, 7330 Thornapple River Drive SE, PO Box 370, Ada, MI 49301, (616) 676-9191, FAX (616) 676-5870. Business Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1931 (TVP), ES1997Findlay Cemetery Lot Owners
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (12), DAR, WMGS.
History: I don't know whether or not you'd like this information, but thought I'd pass it on for the History notation for Findlay Cemetery, for what it's worth. The land was originally owned by the Findlay family (my ancestors) who either donated or sold it to the township. My connection comes in through my great-grandmother Cora Findlay. She married Edgar Collar and they established a farm right up the road from Findlay Cemetary at 2 Mile and Honey Creek. The farm is still held by my family and is one of the largest tracts of land still undeveloped in Ada Township. (Katie VanDerWarf-Boggs.)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: A beautiful, well maintained cemetery on hilly, tree-filled terrian. Many family monuments. Some very old stones have been repaired. Oldest stones at front of cemetery. A wooded area is located at the rear of the cemetery and some burials have been done in the stand of trees. Several benches throughout. The entrance is a large metal gate which is locked though there is room between the gate and the fence to walk into the cemetery. Sign posted at gate says that the gate remains locked at all times in effort to protect this historical cemetery. A key is available at the township office. A fairly large cemetery. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999.)
 

ALGOMA TOWNSHIP - T9N R11W

Cemetery: ALGOMA CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 21
Street Address: Grange Avenue, Sparta, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Algoma Township, 10531 Algoma Avenue NE, Rockford, MI 49341, (616) 866-1583, FAX (616) 866-3832. Business Hours: M-F 8:30-4:30
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (JCD),  1994ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (7,12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: BRIGGS CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Briggs Family Cemetery
Section: 24 or 25
Street Address: Northland Drive, Rockford, MI
Ownership: Abandoned.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1929 (RA)
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown. 
 

ALPINE TOWNSHIP - T8N R12W

Cemetery: ALPINE CEMETERY, NOW PINE GROV CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): Pine Grove Cemetery, formerly Alpine Cemetery
Section: 13
Street Address: 6200 Vinton Avenue NW, Comstock Park, MI. North of Seven Mile Road.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Alpine Township, 5255 Alpine Avenue NW, Comstock Park, M 49321-9768, (616) 784-1262, FAX (616) 784-1234. Business Hours M-F 8:30-5.
Transcriptions: 1910, DAR1925 (RA), JOC1999,   1999ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (7,12), DAR.
History: Was established when Alpine Village was founded in 1837. In 1847 Alpine became a township and in 1850 the original cemetery was conveyed from John Colton to Alpine Township. The cemetery was enlarged in 1894 when land was conveyed from Porter A. Vinton to the township. The size of the cemetery was increased in 1921, 1961 and again in 1970. The earliest grave markers go back to 1842. In October of 1940 a fire destroyed all the cemetery records. This monument was erected in 1984 in memory of those persons buried here. (From plaque posted at cemetery.)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Beautiful county setting with a rooster crowing in the distance. Pine trees and hilly terrain. Two utility buildings and water spout. A plaque on the front sign tells of the history of this cemetery. Paved road leads into and throughout with gates at the entrance. Another sign identifies the road leading into the cemetery as "Lagerquist LA. PVT." Railroad tracks on the south side line of the cemetery. Hours posted were: "8am to 8pm. April 15 to Oct. 1, except for funerals." Very well maintained and peaceful. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: ENGLISHVILLE CEMETERY (Sign  View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 1
Street Address: Vinton Avenue, just north of Nine Mile Road.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Alpine Township, 5255 Alpine Avenue NW, Comstock Park, M 49321-9768, (616) 784-1262, FAX (616) 784-1234. Business Hours M-F 8:30-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RK), 1999ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (10,14), DAR.
History: Formerly owned by a cemetery association.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Beautiful county cemetery with a line of old pine trees across the front of the property along the fence. Dirt drive leads into and along side the cemetery. Old hand water pump for water and small utility barn. Broken headstones have been repaired and the grounds beautifully maintained. Oldest headstones appeared to be at the front of cemetery with newer ones leading to the back. Appears to be active. Very nicely maintained and peaceful. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: HOLY TRINITY CEMETERY (Sign   View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 26
Street Address: Alpine Church Road NW, Comstock Park, MI. West of Alpine Avenue, across from Holy Trinity Catholic Church.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Holy Trinity Catholic Church, 1200 Alpine Church Road NW, Comstock Park, MI 49321, (616) 784-0677
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA), 1984, 1999ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (12,22), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic.
Description: Very hilly terrain with some trees. Extremely well cared for. Paved road leads into and throughout. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: ALPINE CENTER CEMETERY  (PlaqueEntrance Arch  -  View Toward Fence and Trees  -  View Toward Road  -  View Toward Field  -  View with five stones, maintenance shed)
Alternative Name(s): Alpine Town Hall Cemetery, Old Alpine Cemetery
Section: 22
Street Address: 2382 Seven Mile Road, Comstock Park, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Alpine Township, 5255 Alpine Avenue NW, Comstock Park, M 49321-9768, (616) 784-1262, FAX (616) 784-1234. Business Hours M-F 8:30-5.
Transcriptions: 1910, DAR1925 (RA), JOC1999.
Record Sources: Compendium, Source Book (7,12), DAR.
History: State Historic Preservation Office, Historic plaque onsite.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Fenced on three sides, fourth side open. The side that fronts on Seven Mile Rd. has a fence and an arch made out of metal, with "Alpine Center Cemetery" on the arc. There is no gate. The Historical Society has a building right next door, there is a historical sign that gives a brief history of the township and cemetery, land donated by Edward Wheeler. There is one shed-type wooden building in the cemetery. Several large trees in cemetery. Some stones are very old and are cracked, others used to be upright, but are now laid flat on the ground. There are old, weathered stones and new ones, and definitely more burials than stones. Notable stones: Gibbs has a large stone monument and a family plot surrounded by a low concrete wall; Miller also a large stone monument and a family plot surrounded by a low concrete wall; Chase & Ramsdill have large stone monuments. Active. (D. Manni, November 1999.)

Cemetery: SAUR CEMETERY (Gate  -  Plaque  -  Stones)
Alternative Name(s): Cross Cemetery, Saur-Cross Cemetery, Saur-Cross Center Cemetery, Old Cemetery
Section: 17
Street Address: 3859 Seven Mile Road, on the Fire Station No. 2 property.
Ownership: Abandoned.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown. (Family?)
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RA), JOC1999
Record Sources: Compendium, DAR, USGWA.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Cemetery is abandoned. Open, except for two small white picket fence sections with a wooden white arch in the center of this fence. There is an historical marker that reads:

"Although the exact location of their resting place is unknown, this plaque is dedicated to the memory of those buried here"
~ 1996 Alpine Charter Township ~
No buildings, but this cemetery is right next door to an Alpine Township fire station. A few large trees. Behind the fence and arch there is a cement slab with three stones on it. One is a base (it looks like it may have been a spire-type monument at one time) with a broken section on it that says "Mother," the other two are spire-type monuments, one for Perkins and one for Card families. I would dare say this is all that remains of this cemetery. (D. Manni, November 1999)
 

BOWNE TOWNSHIP - T5N R9W

Cemetery: BOWNE CENTER CEMETERY (View)
Alternative Name(s): Bowne Cemetery, Bowne Township Cemetery
Section: 16
Street Address: NW corner of Alden Nash Avenue and 84th Street
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Bowne Township, 6059 Linfield Avenue SE, PO Box 35, Alto, MI 49302-0035, (616) 868-6846, FAX (616) 868-0110. Business Hours: WF 9-5
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (JP), 1981, ES1995.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,19), DAR, WMGS.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Bowne Center Cemetery is located at the northwest corner of Alden Nash Rd. and 84th Street. This little four corners area was known as Bowne Center. It is historic and quite picturesque. Across Alden Nash from the cemetery is a beautiful, old, United Methodist Church, and next to that the Bowne Twp. Hall. On the southeast corner of the intersection was an old schoolhouse, which was being restored. See photos of all these historic buildings. If it were not for the traffic whizzing past, one would feel transported in time. To the north side of the cemetery was a row of large spruce trees outside the perimeter fence, with a farm field on the other side. There was also a farm field to the west of the cemetery. A row of maple trees lined the east side along Alden Nash Rd. There were no large trees in the cemetery proper. Several gravel drives ran through the cemetery grounds, which were neatly mowed and well maintained. There were hundreds to 1000 stones, with the oldest in evidence being 1855. There were some broken stones in need of repair. The cemetery did appear to be still active. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: MENNONITE CEMETERY (View  -   Mennonite Church)
Alternative Name(s): Bowne Mennonite Cemetery
Section: 13
Street Address: SE Corner of 76th Street and Freeport Avenue by the church, Alto, MI.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Bowne Mennonite Church, 14076 76th SE, Alto, MI 49302, (616) 868-7249.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (AC), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR, WMGS.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Mennonite
Description: Bowne Mennonite Cemetery is on the southwest side of 76th Street and Freeport Rd. This area is still very much out in the country, and is very quiet, with no traffic. It is beside the Bowne Mennonite Church, and otherwise is surrounded by a farm field on the south. There is an old, decorative wire fence, that has been well-maintained, surrounding the perimeter with a gate, which was unlocked on the Saturday we were there. The grounds are also very well maintained. There are a few broken stones in need of repair among the several hundred there, and there were a few old, unreadable ones, and some that were broken off completely. There may have been a few unmarked graves. The oldest readable stone was 1871, and the cemetery appeared to be still in use, as did the beautiful, old church. There were no trees in the cemetery itself, but there was one huge old maple in the northwest corner. There was an old wooden shed on the premises. (S.M.G. Davis, June 2000)
 

BYRON TOWNSHIP - T5N R12W

Cemetery: BOYNTON CEMETERY (View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 8
Street Address: West side of Ivanrest Road between 68th and 72nd Streets, Byron Center, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Byron Township, 8085 Byron Center Avenue SW, Byron Center, MI 49314, (616) 878-9066, FAX (616) 878-3980. Business Hours M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (JG), ES 1994
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Boynton Cemetery appears to be an older cemetery with broken stones in need of repair, several worn smooth, and many missing. The oldest seen was 1848. There are approximately 500-600 markers overall. There is a U-shaped, paved drive through the cemetery. Chains and padlocks can be locked across the drives, but were open on the Sunday we visited. Otherwise, there is no fence around the perimeter, and only a decorative fence across the front. There is no office or maintenance building. The north side of the cemetery is bordered by a residence past a small wooded area, the west by a deep woods with a ravine, and on the south by a tree-lined farm field. We may return when the raspberries in the woods get ripe! The newer section of the cemetery has water spouts with buckets. The cemetery appears to still be active, and was nicely mowed and trimmed. There were many Boynton and Tibbet family tombstones. (S.M.G. Davis, June 2000)

Cemetery: GILBERT CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): Weaver Cemetery
Section: 24
Street Address: East side of Clyde Park Avenue between 84th and 92nd Streets, Byron Center, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Byron Township, 8085 Byron Center Avenue SW, Byron Center, MI 49314, (616) 878-9066, FAX (616) 878-3980. Business Hours M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DT) , ES 1961
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Gilbert Cemetery is a very old cemetery with many, many broken, smooth and missing markers. The oldest we saw was 1856. The gate was closed across the dirt, two track drive, but there was no perimeter fence. There were woods to the south, east and north sides of the cemetery, with the road on the west. There were only about 50-75 stones left. The cemetery had been mowed, but was quite weedy. It appears to have been vandalized, as many stones had been toppled over or completely broken off. It was in a sad state of disrepair. (S.M.G. Davis, June 2000)

Cemetery: KENT MEMORIAL GARDENS
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 11
Street Address, Office Phone: 7101 Clyde Park Avenue SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49509, (616) 455-0793.
Ownership: Corporation.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address.
Transcriptions: 2012 (ES)
Record Sources: Compendium.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: SAINT SEBASTIAN'S CEMETERY (View  -  Church)
Alternative Name(s): Catholic Cemetery
Section: 29
Street Address: Wilson Avenue south of 84th Street, Byron Center, MI
Owner Contact Information: Saint Sebastian Church, 9408 Wilson Ave SW, Byron Center, MI 49315, (616) 878-1893.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DT) , ES 1992
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic
Description: St. Sebastian Cemetery is located behind St. Sebastian Church, which is on the east side of Wilson Avenue, south of 92nd Street. It is a very picturesque little cemetery with large spruce trees surrounding it. There are only about 200-300 graves in a small area here. The oldest stone we saw was 1877, and there were only a few broken stones. The grounds were surrounded by farm fields, but Wilson is quite a busy street here. The cemetery had a lot of plantings of perennials -- peonies, iris, daylilies, etc. It was nicely mowed and trimmed. It is still active. There were many stones from the Homerich family. We noticed a Homerich street not too far away. (S.M.G. Davis, June 2000)

Cemetery: WINCHESTER CEMETERY (Sign  -  Mausoleum)
Alternative Name(s): Unknown.
Section: 14
Street Address: 76th Street between Burlingame and Clyde Park, Byron Center, MI.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Byron Township, 8085 Byron Center Avenue SW, Byron Center, MI 49314, (616) 878-9066, FAX (616) 878-3980. Business Hours M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (BJ), 1984, ES 1998, A-GES 1998, H-LES 1998, M-Z
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,32), DAR.
History: My great-great grandfather Laadan and sons, John, Jerome, Justice and Calvin Winchester migrated to Byron Center in the early 1850's from Ohio. They donated the land for the Winchester Cemetery and they all are buried there along with their families. (They also donated the land for the Winchester School that was there at the time.) (D. Winchester, May 2001)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Winchester Cemetery is on the south side of 76th Street west of Clyde Park near Burlingame. There were several paved, one way drives running through it, with a parking area in the center. There were two equipment buildings. No fences surrounded the perimeter. This is a large cemetery with thousands of stones. It is bordered on the east and west by farm fields, on the south by a woods with poison ivy, and piles of stuff such as concrete blocks, old fencing material, and gravel. The cemetery was nicely mowed and well maintained. There were only a few broken stones in this large cemetery, and a few apparently unmarked graves. The oldest stone in evidence was 1859. Kent Trails bicycle trail runs through one side of the cemetery. There were water spigots throughout with buckets and trash barrels. There was one mausoleum-type structure. There were a few nice, large trees, mostly maples, cedars and spruce. The cemetery is currently active, and is a large, but quiet and beautiful cemetery. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: WINEGAR CEMETERY (Sign  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 29
Street Address: Homrich Avenue between 92nd and 100th Streets, Byron Center, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Byron Township, 8085 Byron Center Avenue SW, Byron Center, MI 49314, (616) 878-9066, FAX (616) 878-3980. Business Hours M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (JG,MDR) ES 1991
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Winegar Cemetery is located on the east side of Homerich Avenue south of 92nd Street. It is extremely hard to spot, as it sits way back in off the road on top of a hill behind some houses, and there is only a dirt two-track drive between two residences, which is lined by huge spruce trees, which almost hide the iron sign. This appears to be quite an old cemetery, with many stones worn smooth and many broken and set down into the ground. There also appears to be many unmarked graves, but the oldest we found was 1854. There is a wire fence surrounding the cemetery. The cemetery has a residence on the north, and much of the land behind the residence and adjacent to the cemetery was being bulldozed clear of trees. The south side had a woods with poison ivy, the east a woods, and the west a residence. There were some large, older maple and spruce trees, and some unusual trees -- locust, catalpa and tamarack. The cemetery appears to be still active with room for expansion. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)
 

CALEDONIA TOWNSHIP - T5N R10W

Cemetery: ALASKA CEMETERY (View  -  Civil War Monument)
Alternative Name(s): Alaska Memorial Cemetery
Section: 10
Street Address: 68th Street SE and Thornapple River Drive, Alaska, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Caledonia Charter Township, 250 Maple, PO Box 288, Caledonia, MI 49316, (616) 891-0070, FAX (616) 891-0430. Business Hours: MTh 9-4, F 9-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DT)  1980's
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Alaska Cemetery is on the southeast corner of 68th Street and Thornapple River Drive in the village of Alaska. There two entrances on 68th Street going through the cemetery with a dirt, or gravel drive. At first glance it is a beautiful cemetery, with hugh white pine and oak trees. Upon closer inspection, one finds many, many broken, older stones; there were overgrown graves along the edges; and there were many tree branches scattered about. The setting is quiet and beautiful, and there is a fence along the south side, where a wooded ravine falls off into the Thornapple River. The rest or the cemetery has no fencing nor sign. There is a monument facing 68th Street dedicated to veterans of the Civil War. On the opposite side of Thornapple River Drive is a newer section of cemetery with a gravel road running through it and no trees. This land was acquired in recent years for expansion, and is located behind the Alaska Baptist Church. There are many hundreds to a thousand tombstones. The oldest stone found was 1858. This cemetery would profit by some hard work removing a lot of dead tree branches, repairing stones, clearing out around the edges, and having a tree trimmer trim dangerous limbs so that they did not fall on more tombstones and break them. (S. M. G. Davis, May 2000.)

Cemetery: BARBER CEMETERY (View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported
Section: 26
Street Address: Ninety-sixth Street and Whitneyville Avenue, Caledonia, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Caledonia Charter Township, 250 Maple, PO Box 288, Caledonia, MI 49316, (616) 891-0070, FAX (616) 891-0430. Business Hours: MTh 9-4, F 9-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (AN)  1980's
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Barber Cemetery is located on the southwest corner of 96th, which is a gravel road here, and Whitneyville Road. This is an extremely old cemetery which doesn't appear to be still in use. There were only 40-50 gravestones; however, the cemetery land was sparsely populated with them, leading me to believe there must be many, many missing stones. A few were broken and laying on the ground and needed repairs. The oldest readable stone was from 1823, and the newest from the 1970s. There was a broken-down wire fence on the south and west sides of the cemetery, and no fence nor gates on the street sides of the cemetery. There was no sign, and, in fact, not even a road going into the cemetery. There was a small opening in the brush, which looked like it may have been an entrance at one time off 96th Street. The cemetery is bordered on the east by Whitneyville Road, on the north by 96th Street, on the west by a private road, Creekview Lane. There is a woods and residence on the south side. Barber Cemetery has a pretty, hillside setting with a couple large maple trees and a big spruce. It had been mowed and trimmed. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: DANIELS CEMETERY (View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 25
Street Address: Eighty-fourth Street, Caledonia, MI.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Caledonia Charter Township, 250 Maple, PO Box 288, Caledonia, MI 49316, (616) 891-0070, FAX (616) 891-0430. Business Hours: M-Th 9-4, F 9-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RA)  1980's
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Daniels Cemetery is just east of Whitneyville Road on the south side of 84th Street. It is very hard to see from 84th Street, as it is behind a private residence, and one must use the residence drive to get to the cemetery. The cemetery is surrounded by a chain link fence with a gate, which was unlocked on the Saturday we visited. The cemetery was nicely mowed and trimmed. It is small, with about 200 stones. This appears to be a very old cemetery, with many, many stones worn smooth, broken, and some laying on the ground. The oldest stone that was readable was 1862, with the newest being 1984. It was hard to tell if the cemetery was still actively in use. The grounds are bordered on the north by lilac bushes behind the previously mentioned nearby residence, which had a large, St. Bernard dog (luckily the dog was securely tied up at the time of our visit!). On the south side was a woods. The west side has a pine woods with residence, and the east has the aforementioned lane with a large residence being built across it. (May 2000) There was a hand water pump in the cemetery, which was broken. The cemetery is in a pretty, country setting, with some large spruce trees. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: HOLY CORNERS CEMETERY (Civil War Monument)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 18
Street Address: 84th Street between Patterson and Kraft Avenues, Caledonia, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Caledonia Charter Township, 250 Maple, PO Box 288, Caledonia, MI 49316, (616) 891-0070, FAX (616) 891-0430. Business Hours: MTh 9-4, F 9-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA)  1980's
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Holy Corners Cemetery is on the northeast corner of 84th Street and Kraft. Situated on the southeast corner is St. Paul Lutheran Church. There is a dirt/gravel drive running in a semi-circle from 84th to Kraft. There is a very old equipment building -- The building itself looks to be 100 years old. On the west side of the cemetery is an old wire fence with a residence on the other side. The north side has a board fence and a pretty woods. There are no fences or gates on the street sides of the cemetery. The cemetery had apparently not been mowed yet this spring (May 6). There are about 200-300 tombstones, with the oldest one noted being 1867. This appears to be a very old cemetery, with many of the stones being worn smooth and/or broken. There are many broken stones laying about in dire need of repair. There was a war memorial with a flagpole facing Kraft Street. There seemed to be a lot of stones there representing the Good family. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: LAKESIDE CEMETERY (Sign, Veterans' Monument)
Alternative Name(s): Caledonia Cemetery
Section: 29
Street Address: Lakeside Street, Caledonia, MI.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Caledonia Charter Township, 250 Maple, PO Box 288, Caledonia, MI 49316, (616) 891-0070, FAX (616) 891-0430. Business Hours: MTh 9-4, F 9-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA)  1980's (See Caledonia Cemetery)
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Lakeside Cemetery is on the north side of Lakeside Street in Caledonia (west of Broadmoor, north of 92nd Street). It is a newer, large, extremely well cared-for cemetery with thousands of stones. It is definitely still in use. A maintenance person was there trimming when we visited, who appeared to be from a lawn service-type company. There were no older, broken or missing stones in evidence. Several gravel drives went through the cemetery, and, oddly, there was a paved, single-lane, private road bordered by cedar trees going through the middle of the cemetery, leading to lakeside residences. We had driven down it, thinking it to be a cemetery drive. The cemetery had a chain link fence part of the way on the north side with a residence on the other side. Emmons Lake bordered on the north and west sides. On the east side was a United Methodist Church. Part of the cemetery had shade trees, and part of it was quite open without many trees. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: SAINT PATRICK'S CEMETERY (Sign  -  Sign 2  -  Monument)
Alternative Name(s): Catholic Cemetery
Section: 24
Street Address: 92nd Street
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Holy Family Catholic Church, 9669 Kraft Avenue SE, Caledonia, MI 49316, (616) 891-9259
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (TVP), KC1998
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: See Katie Cook transcription.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic.
Description: St. Patrick's Cemetery is located on the south side of 92nd Street between Whitneyville Rd. and Morse Lake Ave. There was a farmer's field to the south, 92nd Street to the north, and a residence to the west. A chain link fence surrounded the perimeter of the cemetery with a gate and lock, which was unlocked the Saturday we were there. There were many small stones along the west fence, which appeared to be a children's area. There were not many trees in the cemetery proper, but there was a row of large maples just outside the fence on the west, and a huge oak tree in the southeast corner. On the premises was a small, wooden, very old toolshed. The oldest stone in evidence was 1863, and there were only a few broken stones. There appears to be about 200-300 stones total. I couldn't tell if there were unmarked graves, or if the cemetery was still active. There was no church on the site, but a large, flat area vacant of stones appears to have been where the church was located. There was a monument there (see photo) which said:

Egglesia St. Patrick
Die Primi Juliia D 1887

Prayer of St. Patrick

Christ, as a light, illumine and guide me!
Christ, as a shield o'ershadow and cover me!
Christ, be under me! Christ, be over me!
Christ, be beside me on left hand and right.
Christ, be before me, behind me, about me.
Christ, this day be within and without me.
Christ the lowly and the meed
Christ, the all powerful, be in the heart of each to whom I speak.
In the mouth of each who speaks to me
In all who draw near me, or see me, or hear me. Amen.

(S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

CANNON TOWNSHIP - T8N R10W

Cemetery: BOSTWICK LAKE CEMETERY (View)
Alternative Name(s): Bostwick Lake Cemetery, Bostwick Lake Township Cemetery, Cannon Township Cemetery
Section: 13
Street Address: Old Belding Road off Belding Road (M-44), east of Ramsdell Drive, Rockford, MI.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Cannon Township, 6878 Belding Road NE, Rockford, MI 49341, (616) 874-6966, FAX (616) 874-8940. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DT), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Small cemetery with some trees, dirt road through, water pump. Some monuments. Well maintained. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: CANNONSBURG CEMETERY (Sign, Judson Family Plot, Ladner Family Plot)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 22
Street Address: Sunfish Lake Avenue, Rockford. At Kreuter Street, north of Cannonsburg Road.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Cannon Township, 6878 Belding Road, Rockford, MI 49341, (616) 874-6966, FAX (616) 874-8940. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (BJ), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Very old with the oldest stones at the front of cemetery. No fence and just a dirt drive. Some damage done to stones. Ladner Family plots enclosed with small metal fencing. Many family monuments. Trees and fairly flat terrian. Water pump. Country setting. Well maintained. Active. (R. Aungst, 1999)
We have done repair work on headstones at both the Old Bostwick Lake and the Cannonsburg cemeteries. There might be a few in disarray, but I think most stones are now repaired, intact. (B. Shupe, Cannon Township Clerk, April 2001)

Cemetery: OLD BOSTWICK LAKE CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): Marshall Cemetery, Old Bostwick Lake Church Cemetery.
Section: 11
Street Address: NW corner of Ramsdell Drive off Belding Road (M-44), Rockford, MI.
Behind a former church building.
Ownership: Township. Given to the township by Bostwick Lake Congregational Church.
Owner Contact Information: Cannon Township, 6878 Belding Road NE, Rockford, MI 49341
Phone: (616) 874-6966
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (LDG), RB1998, 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Located on Ramsdale Road north off Belding Road (M-44). This very old cemetery is full of pine trees on a hilly terrain. Many broken stones, some laying flat on ground. The headstones of one family, the Rays, were badly damaged. 1885 and 1891 were the only dates I could read. Family monuments and many stones. Some very soft spots indicating more burials. Road along side of cemetery. A cemetery reading project conducted by the Ryan Bloomfield Eagle Scout troop dated 7 April 1998 is enclosed in a weather-proof case next to sign of cemetery. It may be viewed to locate family headstones/plots. There has been some destruction and wear but it does appear to be some effort to clean and repair this very interesting cemetery. Appears inactive. (R. Aungst, 1999)
We have done repair work on headstones at both the Old Bostwick Lake and the Cannonsburg cemeteries. There might be a few in disarray, but I think most stones are now repaired, intact. (B. Shupe, Cannon Township Clerk, April 2001)
 

CASCADE  TOWNSHIP - T6N R10W

Cemetery: CASCADE CEMETERY (View - War MemorialCook Cemetery Section)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 16
Street Address: 7200 30th Street, east off Cascade Road, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Cascade Charter Township, 2865 Thornhills SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-7192, (616) 949-1500, FAX (616) 949-3918. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RA), 1968, ES1998, A-L ; ES1998, M-Z
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (7,12), DAR.
History: Some bodies here were moved from Little Cook Cemetery.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Cascade Cemetery is located on the south side of 30th Street east of Cascade Road. There is an ornate iron fence across the front of the cemetery, with gates that can be closed across the paved entrance roads. A sign states that the cemetery is closed at dusk. A chain link fence surrounds the remainder of the perimeter. There are residences on all sides of the cemetery except the west, which is heavily wooded. There is a concrete block garage-type maintenance building, and there are water spigots with cans located throughout the grounds. This is a large, active cemetery with thousands of stones. The oldest in the main cemetery seems to be 1851. There is a war memorial paying tribute to veterans from WWI, WWII, Korea and Viet Nam (see photo). This is a well-kept cemetery with many large, older trees. A lot of the markers are large and ornate, and only a couple of broken ones can be seen. We noticed a lot of graves shared the names of nearby streets Buttrick, Quiggle, etc. Along the west side of the cemetery is a newly made Mary J. Rooks (d. 2000) memorial garden in a wooded area with a bench, perennials, etc. Also in the southwest corner of the cemetery is a walled garden retreat with plantings and benches. (S.M.G. Davis, October 2000)

Cook Cemetery or Teeple Cemetery: Located in the southwest corner of Cascade Cemetery is an area cornered by four pine trees and an old, ornate iron gate. This has gravestones from what was once Cook Cemetery, and in the center of one side is a marker (see photo) which says: "Formerly situated on a six tenths acre parcel near the SE corner of SW _ of section 7, presently the intersection of I-96 and 28th Street, the Cook Cemetery was relocated here in the summer of 1966 under the direction of a special memorial commission and the township board. The earliest burial on record made in 1850, the most recent in 1905." The other side of this marker has the names of the township board members at the time of relocation. There are perhaps 30-40 very old stones in this area, several of them having the name of Teeple. (S.M.G. Davis, October 2000)

Cemetery: CHAPEL HILL MEMORIAL GARDENS (Chapel Hill Sign -
Veterans' Memorial  - View  -  View  - Mausoleum)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 18
Street Address, Office Phone: 2894 Patterson Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512, (616) 949-2560
Ownership: Corporation.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address. See office hours listed below.
Transcriptions: None reported.
Record Sources: Compendium.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Chapel Hill is on the southeast corner of Patterson and 28th Streets, one of the busiest intersections in the city of Grand Rapids. There is no entrance on 28th Street; however, there are several paved drives off Patterson that run throughout with shady maple trees lining most. It appears that at one time the entrance may have been right at the corner. This is an extremely large cemetery with thousands of sites. There are no above-ground headstones. Most grave markers are bronze, and are set into the ground. There are several mausoleums. Trees and shrubs are scattered throughout. The cemetery is divided into different sections with names such as "Divine Promise Garden," "Old Rugged Cross Garden," Good Shepherd Garden," etc. Each section has some type of statuary, an example of which is shown in one of the photos. The cemetery has a brick office building in the style of a home, and office hours are 8:30-5 Monday-Friday, and 9-Noon Saturday. There is a bell tower, which was playing hymns on the Memorial Day we were there. The cemetery is very well tended, beautiful, and active. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: LITTLE COOK CEMETERY, See Cascade Cemetery
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 15
Street Address: 7200 30th Street, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: None.
Owner Contact Information: None.
Transcriptions: None reported.
Record Sources: Compendium.
History: Bodies moved to Cascade Cemetery.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: No longer extant. The few graves in this cemetery, also called Teeple Cemetery, were removed from the northeast corner of 28th Street and Patterson Road to the Cascade Cemetery where they are in a separate location.

Cemetery: SAINT MARY'S CEMETERY (Sign  -   Historic Market)
Alternative Name(s): Catholic Cemetery
Section: 31
Street Address: SW corner of 52nd Street and Kraft Avenue, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Holy Family Catholic Church, 9669 Kraft Avenue SE, Caledonia, MI 49316, (616) 891-9259
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA), KC1998ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: See below, see also Katie Cook transcription.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic
Description: St. Mary's Catholic Cemetery is located on the southwest corner of 52nd and Kraft next to an industrial building. It is in a rectangular shape, with about 1/4 of the rectangle vacant of gravestones. I supposed this to be where the original church was located, which must have been quite small. There is no church there now, just a cross-shaped, large monument with a picture of the church and the history of it, a transcription of which I have included. There are about 200-300 stones in this cemetery with no apparent unmarked graves. It is well maintained, and we saw only one broken stone laying on the ground. The oldest stone witnessed was 1864, and many of the stones list counties in Ireland where the people were born. There is a chain link fence around the perimeter, and the gate was open on a Saturday, but I suspect it closes and is locked at night. There was the remnant of a small, dirt track road, which entered the cemetery at the gate opening and quickly turned to just grass and eventually disappears, so that one must back out. There were a few smaller trees, but was otherwise grassy, with not much other landscaping.

"Historical Review of St. Mary's Cascade"
"The Catholic Community in Cascade under Fathers Ducleunic and Vizosky, built the first St. Mary's Church in 1856. The structure was of wood with a stone foundation. The second and final building, erected under Fr. Whalen, was dedicated by Bishop Henry Richter in 1888. In 1891, St. Mary's, till then a mission of St. Andrew's, received its first pastor, Fr. Byrne, followed by Fathers Crumley, Behan, Newman, Racette, Strahan, Malinowski and Schafer. 'It stood a thing of service and beauty' - A monument proclaiming far & near the devotion of the Catholic people of Cascade, of God, and Holy Mother Church.' The Community of St. Mary's became a cornerstone of Holy Family Church in 1970." (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000.)

Cemetery: SNOW CEMETERY (View  -   Snow Church)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 13
Street Address: 3131 Snow Avenue, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Cascade Charter Township, 2865 Thornhills SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-7192, (616) 949-1500, FAX (616) 949-3918. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RA) ES1997
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Snow Cemetery is located at 3131 Snow Avenue in Cascade Twp. on the West side of the road. Snow Ave. United Methodist Church is located adjacent to it on the south. There is a woods to the west of the cemetery, a residence with barn to the north, and a residence across the quiet road. A U-shaped, dirt, two track road goes through the cemetery. There is a chain link fence across the opening of the grounds, but no gate is across the two entries, so it appears it is always accessible. An old, wire fence surrounds the other three sides. There is a huge maple tree by the entrance to the cemetery, several black walnut trees, and many old evergreens. There are about 100+ markers in the sparsely populated cemetery, spaced far apart, and the ground seems uneven, which leads me to think there may be some unmarked graves. There are no broken stones in evidence. There's one large vault, which has the names Isaac and Jenny Wood. The oldest stone seems to be from 1886, but there may be older ones, as some are hard to read. The grounds are nicely mowed, and there are miltary markers with flags, and flowers by many of the graves. (S.M.G Davis, October 2000)

Cemetery: TEEPLE CEMETERY, See Cascade Cemetery
Alternative Name(s): Cook Cemetery
Section: 7 or 8
Street Address: Possibly north side of 28th Street just east of Patterson.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Cascade Charter Township, 2865 Thornhills SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-7192, (616) 949-1500, FAX (616) 949-3918. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RA), 1968
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (7,12,32), DAR.
History: Bodies moved to Little Cook Cemetery, then to Cascade Cemetery. After 1925?
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: No longer extant. The few graves in this cemetery, also called Cook Cemetery, were removed from the northeast corner of 28th Street and Patterson Road to the Cascade Cemetery where they are in a separate location.

Cemetery: WHITNEYVILLE CEMETERY (Entrance  -  View  -  Whitney Tavern Stand)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 35
Street Address: 6585 Whitneyville Avenue, west side between 52nd and 60th Streets,
Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Cascade Charter Township, 2865 Thornhills SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-7192, (616) 949-1500, FAX (616) 949-3918. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA) ES1998
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Whitneyville Cemetery is on the west side of Whitneyville Road in the beautiful, historic hamlet of Whitneyville between 52nd and 60th. It is just south of the old Whitney Tavern Stand building and across the road from the Old Time Methodist Church. The cemetery sits on a lovely hillside, and is very well maintained with no broken stones. It is well cared for and maintained, and appears to be still active. It is quite beautiful and peaceful here in spite of it being on a road which receives a fair amount of traffic. There is a paved road which runs up the hill through the cemetery in an inverted "U" and goes around and back down the other side. Near the top of the hill are two very old stones for Oscar Whitney (Whitneyville?) who died in 1819, and his wife, Harriet. There was a flagpole here, but no flag was flying on the Saturday we visited. There is a fence surrounding the perimeter of the cemetery, and there is a sign on it which says "Cemetery closed after dusk, No Trespassing." However, there is no gate across the entrances to keep anyone out. The cemetery is flanked on one side by a residence and on the other by a grassy farm field. There are roughly about 300-500 stones in the cemetery. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

COURTLAND TOWNSHIP - T9N R10W

Cemetery: COURTLAND TOWNSHIP CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 22
Street Address:  East side of Myers Lake Avenue south of Peterson Street, Rockford, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Courtland Township, 7564 13 Mile Road NE, Rockford, MI 49341, (616) 866-0622, FAX (616) 866-3451. Office Hours: M-F 1-4:30.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DM), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: OLD ROCKFORD CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 31
Street Address: NW corner of 10 Mile Road and Northland Drive, Rockford, MI
Ownership: Abandoned.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA), 1985
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,25), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Abandoned. Only a few old stones on a hill, tree laden spot.  It is located on the south edge of a school parking lot.
 

GAINES TOWNSHIP - T5N R11W

Cemetery: BLAIN CEMETERY (Sign  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): Blaine Cemetery; a.k.a. Brewer Cemetery
Section: 5
Street Address: North side of 68th Street between Eastern and Kalamazoo Avenues
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Gaines Charter Township, 1685 68th Street SE, P.O. Box 8876, Grand Rapids, MI 49518-8875, (616) 698-6640, FAX (616) 698-2490. Office Hours: M-F 8:30-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (JP), ES1995 - A - F,   G - O,   P - Z
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Blain Cemetery is located on 68th Street in Cutlerville between Eastern and Kalamazoo. It is on the north side of the road across from the entrance to Crystal Springs, an upscale housing development. The cemetery appears to have been named for the Blain family, who have many stones towards the front. There is a large Cutler monument (Cutlerville?) The front of the cemetery is nice and shady, with large, old maple trees and the older burials. The oldest death date found was 1818, with the second oldest being 1856, which leads me to think that maybe the 1818 may have been moved from another cemetery elsewhere. All stones (even old ones) are in excellent condition. I was unable to tell if there were unmarked graves. The newer portion is toward the rear half of the cemetery, where there is a sign posting rules of the cemetery and no trees. The cemetery is well maintained and active, with much room for expansion. A paved drive runs through the cemetery with two entrances on 68th Street. A locked garage building is on the premises, which apparently houses maintenance equipment. There are no broken stones evident among the several hundreds to thousand gravestones. There is a fence along the sides of the cemetery, and a fence across the front, with a large portion missing. The drives appear to be always open. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

Cemetery: DUTTON CEMETERY (View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 11
Street Address: East side of Hannah Lake Road between 68th and 76th Streets, Dutton, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Gaines Charter Township, 1685 68th Street SE, P.O. Box 8876, Grand Rapids, MI 49518-8875, (616) 698-6640, FAX (616) 698-2490. Office Hours: M-F 8:30-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (DT), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: The Dutton Cemetery is on the east side of Hannah Lake Street just south of 68th in Dutton. It is situated next to Dutton Elementary School. It is an active cemetery and nicely mowed and taken care of, although there are some older stones that are broken, and some that were laid down flat into the ground. The oldest stone found was 1853. There are hundreds of stones, and the cemetery is accessible at all times. It is surrounded on the south and rear by corn fields. There is one small maintenance shed. The archway over the gate says 1870 - Dutton Cemetery - 1925. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000.) 

Cemetery: GAINES CEMETERY   (View  -  View 2)
Alternative Name(s): South Gaines Cemetery
Section: 21
Street Address:  NE corner of 92nd Street and Kalamazoo Avenue.
Ownership: Township 
Owner Contact Information: Gaines Charter Township, 1685 68th Street SE, P.O. Box 8876, Grand Rapids, MI 49518-8875, (616) 698-6640, FAX (616) 698-2490. Office Hours: M-F 8:30-5. 
Transcriptions: DAR1927    ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), D.A.R.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Located at the northeast corner of 92nd Street and Kalamazoo Street. There is a paved drive which runs in a semi-circle from 92nd Street to Kalamazoo. There is a sign with cemetery rules posted. There are approximately 200-300 graves in this pretty, hillside cemetery. It is nice and shady in places with large maple trees. The cemetery is bordered on the north by a ramshackle, barbed wire fence in a woodsy brush area with a swamp beyond, and on the east by a fence row of trees and a farmer's field. Across 92nd on the southeast corner of the intersection is Gaines United Brethren Church. The cemetery was recently mowed, and there were huge patches of creeping phlox blooming, which were very pretty. The oldest stone seen was 1867, and I couldn't tell if the cemetery was still active, but there wasn't much room for any new tombstones if so. Several gravestones were broken and in urgent need of repair. There were some broken stones laying down into the ground, and there appeared to be unmarked graves. There were many stones with the surname Hanna and Krumback. (S.M.G. Davis, May 2000)

 

CITY OF GRAND RAPIDS - T7N R11W
The Grand Rapids public cemetery records are now all located in one office.  Those cemeteries are Fairplains, Fulton Street, Greenwood, Oakhill, Oakgrove and Woodlawn.  If you have a request for information regarding a particular person or family, they will look up the information for you.  Please do not ask for too many requests at a time.  You may call them or write to them:
Grand Rapids Cemeteries Main Office
2530 Kalamazoo SE
Grand Rapids, Michigan 49507
Ph #: (616) 831-1600

Cemetery: FAIRPLAINS CEMETERY
Overall Map of Cemetery and Sections of the Cemetery
Alternative Name(s): Fair Plains Cemetery, Fairplains Burial Ground, Mount Pleasant Burial Ground
Section: 8
Street Address: NW corner of Knapp Street and Fuller Avenue, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: City of Grand Rapids.
Owner Contact Information:    G. R. Cemeteries - Main Office, 2530 Kalamazoo SE., Grand Rapids, MI  49507;  Ph# (616) 831-1600.  They will do lookups.
Transcriptions: DAR1929 (DT,RA), 1939, 1940
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (5,10v1,12), DAR.
History:Organized in March 1851 as Mount Pleasant Burial Ground. In November 1872 a strip was added on the north side and the name was changed to Fairplains Burial Ground. Purchased by Fairplains Burial Association, with initial group led by Foster Tucker, president and Erastus Knapp, treasurer. In June 1940, the City Commission voted to take over control of the cemetery from J. A. Richards, Association President. Sixty acres. 51,000 estimated burials. The cemetery was about one-half full in 1966. Cemetery averages 180 to 200 burials a year. (Lydens 1966)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Spacious, lots of trees, gently sloping hill on southside, well manicured and maintained. Park-like setting with paved road winding throughout the cemetery. Neighbors walk, jog and play ball on front lawn. Beautiful and peaceful. Several utility buildings and office. Mostly residential neighborhood. Active. (R. Aungst, October 1999)

Cemetery: FULTON STREET CEMETERY (Map, Gate, View, Another View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 29 & 30
Street Address: 801 E. Fulton Street, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: City of Grand Rapids.
Owner Contact Information:    G. R. Cemeteries - Main Office, 2530 Kalamazoo SE., Grand Rapids, MI  49507;  Ph# (616) 831-1600.  They will do lookups.
Transcriptions: DAR1929 (RA, SGD, HB), 1935,  1976, EHM, LT1994
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (7,10v1,12,18,24), DAR. Microfilmed records available through LDS.
History: Chapman 1881, Baxter 1891, Fisher 1918. Village trustees purchased six acres of land from James Ballard for $300 in July 1838. Between 1862 and 1864 the cemetery was judged too small, and adjoining parcels were deeded by Thomas D. Gilbert and others. In 1868 the Fulton Street Cemetery Association was formed by lot owners with T. D. Gilbert as president. The city took over operation from the dormant association in 1948, citing "moral obligation." Ten acres. Number of burials is unknown due to inadequately kept records information and fire, which destroyed early records. Repossessed grave spaces only remain. The cemetery averages 25 to 30 burials a year. First recorded burial is dated 1835. (Lydens 1966)
The cemetery was begun before Fulton Street went through as far as the cemetery.   The original cemetery was Blocks 1, 2, 3, and 4.  After Fulton Street was extended Blocks 5 and 6 were added.  Then the strip containing Blocks 7, 8 and 9 were added having something to do with a war.  Blocks 10, 11, 12 and 13 were added and Cemetery Street was created (now part of Eastern Avenue.)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Completely fenced or walled in. Locked gate at entrance but visiting hours posted are 8am to 5pm M-F and 9am to 2pm on Sat. Lots of trees and well maintained. Paved road leading throughout. First cemetery of Grand Rapids. Many very old burials. No office was seen but a building was on the property. Probably maintance garage. (R. Aungst, October 1999)

Cemetery: JEWISH CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Jewish Oak Hill, Jewish Burial Ground, Temple Israel Section, Hebrew Burying Ground
Section: 31
Street Address: NW corner of Hall Street and Eastern Avenue (Part of Oak Hill Cemetery records) 647 Hall Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: City of Grand Rapids, Cemetery Division of Parks and Recreation Dept., 201 Market SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503 (616) 456-4500. Office Hours: 8-11:30, 12:30-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1931, 1943, 1982
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (10v2,11v2,12,21), DAR.
History: Chapman 1881, Baxter 1891. Southwest corner of Oakhill sold to Joseph Houseman in September 1857 as Jewish cemetery. Houseman led a drive, inspired by the death of Jewish fur trader Jacob Levy, to raise $500 to purchase the hilltop parcel at Union Avenue and Hall Street SE. Led to creation of the Jewish Benevolent and Burial Society.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Jewish
Description: See Oakhill.

Cemetery: OAKHILL CEMETERY (Map  -  Watson Egyptian pyramid mausoleum
Sign  -   View  -  Watson Monument  -  Monuments.)
Alternative Name(s): Oak Hill Cemetery
Section: 31
Street Address: 647 Hall Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI. NW corner of Hall Street and Eastern Avenue.
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information:   G. R. Cemeteries - Main Office, 2530 Kalamazoo SE., Grand Rapids, MI  49507;  Ph# (616) 831-1600.  They will do lookups.
Transcriptions: DAR1931 (RA, SGD), 1943, 1982
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (10v2,11v2,12,21), DAR.
History: The southern section was once an independent cemetery know as Valley City Cemetery.

Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: There is a Jewish section in what is now the northern half.
Description: This cemetery is huge, taking up land on both sides of Hall Street. Entrance to both sides are across the street from each other on Hall. Lots of trees and well maintained. Many large monuments and headstones as well as many very small ones. Office located at entrance, no posted hours were visible. Cemetery borders on Eastern the length of both sides. This cemetery also includes the Valley City Cemetery. Active. (R. Aungst, October 1999) | Cemetery is divided into various parks and drives such as Park Circle, Oaken Bluff, Forest Lawn, Evening Dell, Wildwood Glen, and Sylvan Shade, as selected by former Oakhill Cem. Assoc. treasurer J. Allen Giddings. (Lyden)

Cemetery: SAINT ANDREW'S CEMETERY   (Entrance  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): Saint Andrew's Catholic Cemetery.
Section: 31
Street Address: 900 Madison Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI. South of intersection at Franklin and Madison, on the east side of Madison Avenue.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: St. Andrew's Catholic Cathedral, 267 Sheldon Blvd SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503, (616) 456-1454. (?)
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (KB), 1937, 1980. Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (4,10v2,12), DAR. Microfilmed records available through LDS.
History: Chapman 1881, Baxter 1891, Fisher 1918
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic.
Description: Sits across the street from Madison Grade School. This cemetery is completely enclosed within a high fence. The gate was securely locked. No visiting hours were posted and only a maintance building could be seen. Plenty of trees and well maintained. Small paved road led into and appeared to go through the cemetery. Very old. Sign stating "Pioneers buried there." Contact office about visiting times. (R. Aungst, October 1999)

Cemetery: VETERANS' CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Soldiers' Home Cemetery, Old Soldiers' Home Cemetery, Soldiers' Home Park Cemetery
Section:
Street Address: 3000 Monroe Avenue NW - Can be viewed from I-96 but there is no access. To get to the cemetery take Monroe Avenue north until it ends at the Grand Rapids Home for Veterans.  Entrance to the cemetery is from Lamberton Street on the north side of the veterans home.
Ownership: State of Michigan
Owner Contact Information: Grand Rapids Home for Veterans Cemetery, 3000 Monroe, NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49505 (616) 364-5400
Transcriptions: DAR1932 (KB) Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11v3,12), DAR.
History: Associated with the Old Soldiers' Home. Burials are restricted to veterans and their widows who were residents of the nursing home. From the Michigan State Historic Preservation Office Directory of Historic Sites Online: "In April 1886 the Board of Managers of the Michigan Veterans' Facility set aside five acres for a cemetery. The Grand Rapids posts of the Grand Army of the Republic dedicated the cemetery on Memorial Day, May 31, 1886. The original cemetery was designed in the form of a Maltese cross with 262 grave sites in each of its four sections. In 1894 a granite statue of a Civil War soldier was placed in the center of the cross. By the time of its centennial in 1986, the cemetery had recorded over 4,000 burials of veterans and their dependents."
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None
Description: Active.
 

 GRAND RAPIDS TOWNSHIP - T7N R11W

Cemetery: GRACELAND MEMORIAL PARK AND MAUSOLEUM (Sign, Grounds, Mausoleum, Veterans' Monument - Front, Veterans' Monument - Back)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 23
Street Address, Office Phone: 4341 Cascade Rd. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546 (616) 949-0660. Major intersection is I-96 and Cascade Road.
Ownership: Corporation.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address.
Transcriptions: DAR1933 (RA), 1983
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (6,11v1), DAR. Microfilmed records available through LDS.
History: Graceland Mausoleum was established in 1927.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Located across the street from Martin Cemetery. Modern, spacious and beautifully kept grounds and building. Two large fountains including one that is a memorial to the fallen military service members. Mausoleum very large and imposing. Office is located behind the mausoleum and visiting hours are 9am to 4pm daily. Paved road leads throughout grounds; only one small section is shaded by trees. (R. Aungst, October 1999)

Cemetery: MARTIN CEMETERY (Martin monuments, headstones piled up, Limbert stone.)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 26
Street Address: Cascade Road, Grand Rapids, MI. Located east of the intersection of I-96 and Cascade Road.  Across the road from Graceland Mausoleum.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Grand Rapids Charter Township, 1836 East Beltline NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49525, (616) 361-7391, FAX (616) 361-6620. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DT), 1938, 1983  1995ES
2001 (LGG)

Cemetery: MASON CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 11
Street Address: Dunnigan Avenue between 3 Mile Road and Knapp Street, Grand Rapids, MI. Major intersection East Beltline and Knapp.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Grand Rapids Charter Township, 1836 East Beltline NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49525, (616) 361-7391, FAX (616) 361-6620. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RA), 1995ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Masonic?
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Unknown.
Description: Very small, fenced section. Country-like setting on residential road. Lots of trees. Latched front gate which is unlocked. Burials as late as 1994 but appear to be part of family plots. Ground throughout very, very soft indicating more burials than headstones would indicate. Clean and maintained. Though it is located right at the road, it is easy to miss if you are driving alone. I drove passed it twice! No buildings. May be active. (R. Aungst, October 1999)

GRATTAN TOWNSHIP - T8N R9W

Cemetery: ASHLEY CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 2
Street Address: Ashley Avenue between 10 Mile Road and Heffron Street, Belding, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Grattan Township, 11676 Old Belding Road, Belding, MI 48809, (616) 691-8450, FAX (616) 691-8804. Office Hours: M-Th 8:30-12:30, 1:30-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (BJ) , 1995ES-Updated October, 2006
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: GRATTAN CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Grattan Center Cemetery
Section: 16
Street Address: Off Belding Road/M-44, just west of Grattan Center, Belding, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Grattan Township, 11676 Old Belding Road, Belding, MI 48809, (616) 691-8450, FAX (616) 691-8804. Office Hours: M-Th 8:30-12:30, 1:30-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RK), 1995ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (10v3,12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: MASON CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Hart Cemetery
Section: 23
Street Address: Ashley Avenue northwest side of 6 Mile Road, Belding, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Grattan Township, 11676 Old Belding Road, Belding, MI 48809, (616) 691-8450, FAX (616) 691-8804. Office Hours: M-Th 8:30-12:30, 1:30-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (BJ), 1995ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Masonic?
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: SAINT PATRICK'S CEMETERY, PARNELL
(View of St. Patrick's Church and Cemetery)
Alternative Name(s): Parnell Cemetery, Saint Patrick's Catholic Cemetery.
Section: 32
Street Address: East side of Parnell Road, south of 5 Mile Road NE, across from the church.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: St. Patrick's Church, Grattan Township
Transcriptions: DAR1931 (KJ, TM), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11v3,12), DAR.
History: Grattan and Parnell were both leading Irish politicians. Many Irish settled in Grattan township from the 1830s, through the Irish famine years of 1846 - 1852, and continued to settle there beyond that. Many were Catholic, and they founded a church at the corner of 5 Mile and Parnell Road and named it St. Patrick's for the patron saint of Ireland in Catholic tradition.  The first St. Patrick's church was erected in December, 1844 in the center of the old section of the present cemetery. 
St. Patrick's parish has a school and convent/residence, in addition to the church and cemetery all located at the corner of 5-Mile Road NE, and Parnell Road in Grattan township.

There is no map of the cemetery. The cemetery records were kept in Latin until 1891 or so, and are preserved in a safe, offsite I think. They will access them for specific requests, but do not make them available to the public. Records after 1891 or so are in English, and are kept in the office. They indicated that they are far more readily available. All these records I am speaking of here are the Church records of Baptism (usually within a month or so of birth in Parnell), marriage, and death records. There are other anecdotal items of information on specific records such as witnesses, parents names, etc. in some cases. (T. McCormick, May 2000)

Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic
Description: The cemetery reading of the tombstones shows that the people buried there are heavily Irish....names like Byrne, Farrell, Branigan, Doyle, Hefferan, etc. (T. McCormick, May 2000)
 

LOWELL TOWNSHIP - T6N R9W

Cemetery: McBRIDE CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 23
Street Address: 36th Street west of Pratt Lake Road, Lowell, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Lowell Charter Township, 2910 Alden Nash SE, P.O. Box 37, Lowell, MI 49331, (616) 897-7600, FAX (616) 897-6482. Office Hours M-T, Th-F 9-5.
Transcriptions: DAR19281997ES, MDR1998
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (3,12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: MERRIMAN CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 33
Street Address: South side of 52nd Street between Timpson and Bancroft Avenues, Alto, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Lowell Charter Township, 2910 Alden Nash SE, P.O. Box 37, Lowell, MI 49331, (616) 897-7600, FAX (616) 897-6482. Office Hours M-T, Th-F 9-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928, 1997ES, 1983
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (3,12,14), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: MERRIMAN CEMETERY The Merriman Cemetery is on the south side of 52ndStreet in Alto, almost to U.S. 50. It has a nice setting up on a hill with huge, old oak and cedar trees. There is a fairly new-looking chain link fence surrounding the grounds, but there are no gates across the entrance, so it seems to be accessible any time. Dirt, two-track roads run throughout. There is a woods to the west, and farm fields on the southwest and  east. Across the road is a woods, where  we saw four white-tailed deer. There are approximately 500 stones in the cemetery, and some appear to be missing. Many are broken and in need of repair. The oldest tombstone readable is from 1857, and the cemetery appears to be still active. The grounds are mowed and trimmed, and there is a small shed on the premises. Many Merrimans are buried here. (S.M.G. Davis, Nov. 2000)

Cemetery: OAKWOOD CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Lowell Cemetery
Section: 2
Street Address: North off Main Street, just east of the Flat River, City of Lowell, MI
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: City of Lowell, 301 East Main Street, Lowell, MI 49331, (616) 897-8457, FAX (616) 897-4085. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RA, DM), MDR/BR1997, 1997ES  
Layout Maps of Cemetery
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: ROTHE and COONS CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Simpson Cemetery, Rolfe Cemetery, Roth-Coon Cemetery
Section: 7
Street Address: Between Fulton Street and the Grand River, west of Lowell, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Lowell Charter Township, 2910 Alden Nash SE, P.O. Box 37, Lowell, MI 49331, (616) 897-7600, FAX (616) 897-6482. Office Hours M-T, Th-F 9-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928, 1939, 1996ESMDR1998[?]
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (2,12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Inactive. A small cemetery.

Cemetery: WRIGHT CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 4
Street Address: South side of Foreman Street, Lowell, MI, between Cumberland and Alden Nash Avenues, Lowell, MI.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Lowell Charter Township, 2910 Alden Nash SE, P.O. Box 37, Lowell, MI 49331, (616) 897-7600, FAX (616) 897-6482. Office Hours M-T, Th-F 9-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (JG), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.  Small cemetery.

NELSON TOWNSHIP - T10N R10W

Cemetery: EAST NELSON CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Nelson Township Cemetery
Section: 23, SE 1/4
Street Address: 18 Mile Road, west of Tisdel Avenue, Cedar Springs, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Nelson Township, 2 Maple Street, P.O.Box 109, Sand Lake, MI 49343, (616) 636-5332, FAX (616) 636-4452. Office Hours: M-Th 9-2.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (RA) ES1997
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: PUNCHES CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Punche's Cemetery
Section: 19, NE 1/4.
Street Address: Ritchie Avenue south of 19 Mile Road, Cedar Springs, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Nelson Township, 2 Maple Street, P.O.Box 109, Sand Lake, MI 49343, (616) 636-5332, FAX (616) 636-4452. Office Hours: M-Th 9-2.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (RA) ES1942
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Inactive. Small cemetery.

Cemetery: SAINT MARY'S CATHOLIC CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Catholic Cemetery
Section: 9
Street Address: Grosvenor Street west of Myers Lake Road, Sand Lake, MI
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (RK), ES1997
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: SAND LAKE CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Sand Lake Village Cemetery
Section: 5
Street Address: Ritchie Avenue, north of 22 Mile Road, Sand Lake, MI
Ownership: Village.
Owner Contact Information: Village of Sand Lake, Municipal Building, 2 East Maple, Sand Lake, MI 49343, (616) 636-8854, (616) 636-4564. Office Hours: M-F 9:30-2:30
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (DT), ES1997
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

OAKFIELD TOWNSHIP - T9N R9W

Cemetery: HORTON CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 8
Street Address: NE corner of 14 Mile Road (M-57) and Lappley Avenue, Greenville, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Oakfield Township, 10300 14 Mile Road, Rockford, MI 49341, (616) 754-5679, FAX (616) 754-0989. Office Hours: M-F, 8-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RA), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: OAKFIELD CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Chapel Cemetery
Section: 16
Street Address: NE corner of Wellman Avenue and Stultz Street, Greenville, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Oakfield Township, 10300 14 Mile Road, Rockford, MI 49341, (616) 754-5679, FAX (616) 754-0989. Office Hours: M-F, 8-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RA), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: TOWER CEMETERY     Tower MonumentGate
Alternative Name(s): Tower Family Cemetery.
Section: 30
Street Address: South side of 12 Mile Road and Harvard Avenue, Rockford, MI
Ownership: Family.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: 2005, transcribed by Beverly Porter 
Record Sources: Compendium.
History: It was begun by the Tower Family who were early settlers in the area and still have family located near here.  It is only the early Tower family that are buried here.  There is one grave outside of the cemetery boundaries but it is not known who was buried there or when the burial took place. (2005)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown. Neat small private cemetery

Cemetery: WHITE SWAN CEMETERY     Arch,     View
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 19
Street Address: North side of 12 Mile Road at Nugent Street, Rockford, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Oakfield Township, 10300 14 Mile Road, Rockford, MI 49341, (616) 754-5679, FAX (616) 754-0989. Office Hours: M-F, 8-12.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RC), 1997ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: The cemetery was originally cared for by the White Swan Methodist Episcopal Church (a.k.a Oakfield Methodist Episcopal Church).  The land was sold for use as a cemetery in the 1860's.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Methodist Episcopal
Description: This cemetery is in good condition.  There is an arch entry with a plaque on each side.  The only trees are on the northwest corner of the property.

PARIS TOWNSHIP - T6N R11W
(Part of the township is in the City of Grand Rapids and part the City of Kentwood.)

Cemetery: GARFIELD PARK CEMETERY (Entrance, View)
Alternative Name(s): Garfield Cemetery
Section: 8
Street Address, Office Phone: 2222 Kalamazoo Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49507, (616) 243-8115.
SE of Burton and Kalamazoo.
Ownership: Corporation.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address.
Transcriptions: DAR1929 (SGD)
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Location on Kalamazoo Avenue just north of the Kalamazoo, Nelson, Alger intersection. Across the street from Black Monuments Company. Large stone entrance with plaque that reads "Garfield Cemetery 1900." Beautiful setting on hilly terrain with trees. Paved road throughout. Utility buildings. Well maintained, active. (R. Aungst)

Cemetery: KENT COUNTY POOR FARM CEMETERY (Plaque, View)
Alternative Name(s): Maple Grove Cemetery, Kent County Home Cemetery, County Farm Cemetery, Potter's Field.
Section: 16
Street Address: 1950 32nd Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI. Between Kalamazoo Avenue and Breton Avenue.
Ownership: Unknown.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1931 (TVP), 1956ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11v1,12), DAR.
History: History of the Kent County Poor Farm
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: The cemetery is behind the Luther Home on the grounds of the Luther Complex. To reach the cemetery, park in the Luther Home parking lot, walk to the back of the building and down the trail leading near the creek and into the cemetery. It is fenced in but the gate has been knocked down with other parts of the fencing by falling trees. In front of the fence is a large stone with a plaque that reads:

Maple Grove Cemetery
Established 1857

Burial records are sketchy and were never accurately maintained. It will never be known exactly how many people have been laid to rest in this "Potter's Field." All available records on file at the Kent County Clerk's Office, Kent County Library and at the Administration office of the adjoining facility.

Erected by
The Citizens of Kent County
1987

This cemetery may have been mowed but little else seems to have been done to maintain it. Broken fences, trees fallen across entrance, broken headstones, headstones piled against tree trunks and each other. Some stones so deeply buried in the ground that they are unreadable. Headstones are merely small cement blocks with name and date of death or simply a number instead. The cemetery is small, perhaps the size of two city lots. Exactly when burials ceased in this cemetery is unknown but the most recent date I saw was 1907. The cemetery is bordered by old trees and wooded area with no flowers or any other markers. In comparison to other cemeteries visited, this was by far the saddest and most dismal. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: OAK GROVE CEMETERY (Sign  -  View  -  Hilliker Headstone)
Alternative Name(s): Oakgrove Cemetery.
Section: 8
Street Address: NW corner of 28th Street and Kalamazoo Avenue.  Access off Kalamazoo.
1401 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: City
Owner Contact Information:  G. R. Cemeteries - Main Office, 2530 Kalamazoo SE., Grand Rapids, MI  49507;  Ph# (616) 831-1600.  They will do lookups.
Transcriptions: DAR1926(ES) 1983. Microfilmed records available through LDS.   2010ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,22), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: This cemetery is nearly hidden. It, too, is located at 2350 Kalamazoo Ave. S.E. (See Woodlawn.) The only way into this cemetery is by entering the drive to the MacKay-Grand Rapids Jaycees Family Park entrance. (This entrance is across the street from the office of Woodlawn Cemetery and next to the Fire Station.) Follow this drive all the way back until you see the sign for Oak Grove to your left. From there a dirt road leads into a section closed away by trees. Well-maintained, private and still active. One building. did see one broken headstone and the ground was very soft in many areas. Dirt road leads throughout the cemetery.

Cemetery: PINE HILL CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 32
Street Address: 800 52nd Street SE, Kentwood, MI. Corner of Christie SE.
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: City of Kentwood, 4900 Breton Avenue SE, Kentwood, MI 49518-8848, (616) 698-9610, FAX (616) 698-8199. Office Hours: M-F 8-5. (Paris Township)
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (DM) 2009 (ES)
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Two entrances; easiest access from Christie Street. Hilly, very much so in some places, with trees. Office. Utility building center of cemetery. No posted hours seen. Well maintained, active. (R. Aungst)

Cemetery: REST LAWN MEMORIAL PARK (Map)
Alternative Name(s): Restlawn Memorial Park
Section: 17
Street Address, Office Phone: 3450 Eastern Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508, (616) 243-0294.
Ownership: Corporation.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address.
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (RA), 1931
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11v1,12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Beautiful stone entrance. Office at entrance is made of same stone. Office open M-F, 8am-12pm & 1pm-4:30pm. Saturday by appointment. Meditation Garden, Babyland, Mausoleum, a couple of ponds, paved drive throughout. Trees and landscaping; very well maintained. Active. (R. Aungst)

Cemetery: VALLEY CITY CEMETERY (Map)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 6 , Paris Township
Street Address: 647 Hall SE, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: City. When this section of Paris Township became part of the City of Grand Rapids, Valley City Cemetery became part of Oak Hill Cemetery.
Owner Contact Information:  G. R. Cemeteries - Main Office, 2530 Kalamazoo SE., Grand Rapids, MI  49507;  Ph# (616) 831-1600.  They will do lookups. 
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (JG, SGD, CR)
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11v1,12), DAR. Fire destroyed first office building and records.
History: Now the southern section of Oakhill Cemetery. Chapman 1881, Baxter 1891. On January 20, 1859, the city purchased forty acres of land for $2400 from G. R. Rathbun to create the Valley City Cemetery. In July 1885, the Oak Hill Cemetery Association was turned over to the city. Forty acres. Has 1,689 lots, or 27,024 graves.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Well-maintained by a staff of groundspeople. See Oakhill Cemetery.

Cemetery: WOODLAWN CEMETERY (Sign  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): Walker Cemetery
Section: 8
Street Address: 2530 Kalamazoo Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI. Major intersection is 28th Street and Kalamazoo to the south and Kalamazoo, Alger and Nelson streets to the north.
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information:  G. R. Cemeteries - Main Office, 2530 Kalamazoo SE., Grand Rapids, MI  49507;  Ph# (616) 831-1600.  They will do lookups.
Transcriptions: DAR1931, 1939, 1983, ?JH2000 (This link no longer working.) Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (10v3,12,33), DAR.
History: Between August 6 and September 28, 1920 the city secured options on all land for this cemetery with the main purchase being 132.64 acres from old Pantlind farm at a cost of $25,000. Total of 290 acres, with 36 acres developed on the east or "Protestant" side and 22.5 developed on the west or "Catholic" side. Indian Trails Golf Course is located on cemetery property. Estimated 15,000 burials. Seven acres are under development, with other land available if necessary. Cemetery averages 350 burials annually. (Lydens 1966)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Woodlawn is situated on both sides of Kalamazoo Avenue with the entrance to the West Woodlawn near the Kalamazoo, Alger and Nelson intersection and East Woodlawn a short distance up from there on the opposite side. The office for all city cemeteries is located at the entrance of East Woodlawn. They maintain normal business hours. Woodlawn is a very large and active cemetery, well- maintained and beautifully laid out among hilly, tree filled lawns. Paved road winds throughout both sections of the cemetery. Small chapel located in West Woodlawn. (R. Aungst, November 1999)
 

PLAINFIELD TOWNSHIP - T8N R11W

Cemetery: ASSUMPTION CEMETERY (View)
Alternative Name(s): Assumption Catholic Cemetery, Belmont Cemetery.
Section: 16, NE 1/4
Street Address: Just north of Belmont behind the Catholic school, Belmont, MI
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1929 (RA), 1988, 1995ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (9,12), DAR.
History: Religious.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic
Description: This is not an easy cemetery to find if you are not from the area. Directly across the street from Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Catholic Church is the church's school and rectory. Between the school and rectory is a small driveway. Enter this drive and follow it back around the playground. The cemetery is in back of the playground. Completely fenced in with one building in a small setting. Statue in center of cemetery, which has newer monuments and headstones. Very well cared for. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999.)

Cemetery: BLYTHEFIELD MEMORIAL PARK (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): Blythefield Memorial Cemetery
Section: 14/13
Street Address: Northland Drive and Brewer Road, Rockford, MI
Ownership: Corporation.
Owner Contact Information: 1874 Perkins Ave NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49505, (616) 363-9272.
Transcriptions: 2011 ES
Record Sources: Compendium.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Entrance on Brewer. Sales office located at rear of cemetery. Paved road leads through front gate and cemetery. Fountain in center. All stones flat on ground. Flat, no trees. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999.)

Cemetery: FRIANT CEMETERY (View, Close-up View of Friant Monument)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 24, SE 1/4
Street Address: Brewer Street, facing Cannonsburg Road, Grand Rapids, MI
Across Brewer Street from Oakwood Cemetery.
Ownership: Unknown.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (RA), 1932, BG1999
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11v3,12), DAR.
History: Family cemetery, only nine burials.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Lies directly across the street from Oakwood Cemetery. This is listed as an abandoned cemetery but it has been given a large beautiful monument. The corner is enclosed by a very old metal fence which is broken and weathered. The entire corner is mowed and clean. The front of the monument (facing Cannonsburg) says "Friant." The back of the monument says,

"Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Friant died 1840
Cornelius Friant 1807-1884
Hilda H. Friant 1805-1842
Mary Friant Brown 1814-1890
Andrew J. Friant 1831-1918
Fanny Friant 1829-1899
Montague Friant 1867-1868
Hawley Friant 1872-1873"

(R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: OAKWOOD CEMETERY (Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 23, SE 1/4
Street Address: NW corner of Cannonsburg Road and Brewer Street, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Plainfield Charter Township, 6161 Belmont NE, Box 365, Belmont, MI 49306-0365, (616) 364-8466, FAX (616) 364-6537. Office Hours: M-F 8-5 (Sept.-May), M-F 7:30-4:30 (June-Aug.)
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RA), BG1999
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Entrance from both roads. Very small, attractive, and well-maintained. Many trees. Some very old headstones. Very good repair. Lies directly across the street from Friant Cemetery. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: PLAINFIELD TOWNSHIP CEMETERY (Entrance, View)
Alternative Name(s): Livingston Cemetery
Section: 15, SE 1/4
Street Address: Corner of Packer Road and Rouge River Drive, Grand Rapids.
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Plainfield Charter Township, 6161 Belmont NE, Box 365, Belmont, MI 49306-0365, (616) 364-8466, FAX (616) 364-6537. Office Hours: M-F 8-5 (Sept.-May), M-F 7:30-4:30 (June-Aug.)
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (RA), 1932, 1980, BG1999
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,23), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Main entrance on Packer with second entrance on Rogue River. Large cemetery with several buildings, lots of trees, well maintained and pretty cemetery with paved road leading throughout. Many, many family monuments. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999.)

Cemetery: ROCKFORD CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 1, NE 1/4
Street Address: Division Street south of 10 Mile Road, east of Northland Drive, Rockford, MI
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: City of Rockford, 7 South Monroe Street, P.O. Box 561, Rockford, MI 49341-0561, (616) 866-1537, FAX (616) 866-6406. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RA), 1976,  1996ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,17), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.
 

SOLON TOWNSHIP - T10N R11W

Cemetery: ELMWOOD CEMETERY 
Alternative Name(s): Cedar Springs Cemetery, Greenwood Cemetery.
Section: 36
Street Address: West side of old US-131, north of 16 Mile Road, Cedar Springs, MI
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: City of Cedar Springs, 66 South Main Street, P.O. Box 310, Cedar Springs, MI 49319, (616) 696-1300, FAX (616) 696-0202. Office Hours: M-F 9-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (KB), 1985,   ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12, 25), DAR.
History: On the west side of the State road, immediately outside the northern limits of the village, is a neat burial place. North of it is the grave of an Indian who was buried there in accordance with his dying request. The grounds were formerly the farm of Mr. Prentice. The old log house has disappeared, but its precise location, near the family burial lot of N.R. Hill, may still be noted. (Chapman 1881)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Headstones repaired by Cedar Springs Historical Society in 1990.

Cemetery: SOLON CEMETERY   (Sign)
Alternative Name(s): Solon Center Cemetery, Solon Township Cemetery
Section: 22
Street Address: NE corner of Algoma Avenue and 18 Mile Road, Cedar Springs, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Solon Township, 2305 19 Mile Road, Cedar Springs, MI 49319, (616) 696-1718, FAX (616) 696-3970. Office Hours: M-TH 12-5. No mail delivery at township hall. Try Mary Meek, Township Clerk, 2793 Wiersma Road, Cedar Springs, MI 49319 (616) 696-3609. This appears to be her personal contact information at home, so be gentle.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RK),   ES1995 - A - G,   H - O,  P - Z   DZ1999
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

SPARTA TOWNSHIP - T9N R12W

Cemetery: FAIRPLAINS CEMETERY (Sign, View 1, View 2)
Alternative Name(s): Sparta Cemetery
Section: 23
Street Address: Stebbins Street south end of Sparta Village
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Sparta Township, 160 East Division, Sparta, MI 49345, (616) 887-8863, FAX (616) 887-3823. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (RK), 1940-41, EHM,    1998ES,    Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (7,12,27), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Cemetery is active, maintained, room for expansion. Wooden sign to the north of the entrance says "Fairplains Cemetery" and "established 1901." A two-track gravel road through part of the cemetery loops back on itself. There is a chain-link fence along the west side on either side of the entrance; a wire fence runs along both the north and south sides of the cemetery. There is no gate. A small garage is located towards the back of the cemetery. Several large pine trees are scattered throughout the cemetery. There are weathered, old stones and new stones, as well as more burials than stones. There are a few large stones, not many: Cole & Artlip and Bland. Towards the southwest part of the cemetery there is a mother/child pinkish red stone monument that says "in loving memory of our children." Several of the stones around this monument belong to children and babies. (D. Manni, November 1999)

Cemetery: GREENWOOD CEMETERY (Sign, View, View 2)
Alternative Name(s): Greenwood Cemetery.
Section: 15
Street Address: W. Division Road or 13 Mile Road, Sparta, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Sparta Township, 160 East Division, Sparta, MI 49345, (616) 887-8863, FAX (616) 887-3823. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (KB), 1998ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,25), DAR.
History: Established 1854.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: One entrance is at the west end of the cemetery, the other is at the east end. There is no connecting roads between the two sections of the cemetery. There is only one sign along the 13 Mile Rd. side, pretty much right in the middle of that side of the cemetery. It is a plain wooden sign hanging from a post that says "Greenwood Cemetery." Cemetery is active, maintained, it is not fenced and has no gate or buildings. There are several large trees and shrubs throughout the cemetery. There are old, weathered stones and new stones, as well as some broken stones. There is a large stone Civil War monument near the east entrance, there are also many large and many ornate stones, including Gardner and Martindale. (D. Manni, November 1999)

Cemetery: LISBON CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 30
Street Address: 12 Mile Road between Kenowa and Fruitridge Avenues, Sparta, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Sparta Township, 160 East Division, Sparta, MI 49345, (616) 887-8863, FAX (616) 887-3823. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (JKG), 1998ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (7,12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: This is an older cemetery and there are probably very few, if any, plots available for new burials. It is maintained well, although not all gravesites are actively kept up by family members. This cemetery had a huge tree in the center that had very wide low branches, which our family has always considered the "family tree." However, in the bad windstorm of 1998 one half of the tree was destroyed. That part of the tree was trimmed and the rest left standing. Of all the damage done to surrounding farms etc., none seemed as sad as did our "family tree" in Lisbon Cemetery. I have pictures of before and after of the tree and think it should be a part of the cemetery history. (S. Kennamer, 1999)

Cemetery: MYERS CEMETERY (Sign, View, View 2)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 13
Street Address: North13 Mile Road, west of Long Lake Road, Sparta, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Sparta Township, 160 East Division, Sparta, MI 49345, (616) 887-8863, FAX (616) 887-3823. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1925, 1940, 1985, 1998ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (7,12,25,27), DAR.
History: Established 1912.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Cemetery is active and maintained, no gate, and no fence. Main entrance off of Thirteen Mile Road has a wooden retention wall on each side, and it is a very narrow entrance! There is another entrance to the north of the main entrance. This second entrance has a dirt two-track that meets up in the back of the cemetery with the main two-track road. There is no gate. There is one wooden sign that says "Myers Cemetery." There are no buildings in the cemetery; along the main entrance road there is a raised concrete platform that has white iron railings on three sides of it, the fourth side along the road is open. Several large trees, shrubs and bushes. There were old, weathered stones and new stones, none appeared to be broken or buried. Some large upright stones included the names Emmons, Lown, Powell, Montgomery and Reyburn. There are more burials than stones. (D. Manni, November 1999)
 

SPENCER TOWNSHIP - T10N R9W

Cemetery: DeGRAW CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.- was located on DeGraw property.
Section: 31
Street Address: 16 Mile Road east of Keller, Harvard
Ownership: Unknown.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (RA), ES1995 - same as 1927
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Small family cemetery.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None.
Description: Abandoned.

Cemetery: SAINT MARGARET'S CATHOLIC CEMETERY  (Ward Monument)
Alternative Name(s): Saint Margaret's Cemetery, Catholic Cemetery.
Section: 31
Street Address: 16 Mile Road west of Harvard Road, Harvard, MI
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (RK),   Ward2000,   ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: SPENCER TOWNSHIP CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Spencer Mills Cemetery, Spencer Cemetery
Section: 27
Street Address: 17 Mile Road between Podunk and Lincoln Lake Road, Gowen, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Spencer Township, 14960 Meddler Avenue, Gowen, MI 49326, (616) 985-0035, FAX (616) 984-2207. Office Hours: T 8:30-12:30, 2-5; W 8:30-12; F 1-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (DT), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

TYRONE TOWNSHIP - T10N R12W

Cemetery: PINEWOOD CEMETERY (Sign  View  -  View 2)
Alternative Name(s): Pine Wood Cemetery, Chubbuck Cemetery
Section: 8
Street Address: SW corner of Peach Ridge Avenue and 21 Mile Road, Kent City, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Tyrone Township, 43 South Main Street, P.O. Box 275, Kent City, MI 49330, (616) 678-4779, (616) 678-5513. Office Hours: M-F 9-3.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (RK), 1999ES includes Sexton's records
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Cemetery is active, maintained, room for expansion. There is no fence or gate. One entrance is at the south corner of the cemetery on Peach Ridge, the other entrance is on the north side of the cemetery off of 21 Mile Rd. A gravel road runs through the cemetery and connects both entrances. There is one green metal sign along the Peach Ridge side; at the top it says "Chubbuck Cemetery" and underneath that "Pinewood." There is a small shed-type building in the back of the cemetery. There are several large trees, shrubs and bushes. There are some broken stones. There are weathered, old stones and new stones; older graves are along the north side, newer on the south side. Some large stone monuments: Johnson, Shaw, Putnam and Richley are some of the names. There are more burials than stones. (D. Manni, November 1999)

Cemetery: IDLEWILD CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Snow Cemetery.
Section: 27
Street Address: South side of 18 Mile Road between Tyrone and Barber Streets, Kent City, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Tyrone Township, 43 South Main Street, P.O. Box 275, Kent City, MI 49330, (616) 678-4779, (616) 678-5513. Office Hours: M-F 9-3.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (TVP); 1999 ES  includes Sexton's records.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: The condition of the cemetery is excellent. It is well-maintained and one of the prettiest around. Not only is in kept mowed in the summer months, but the families of those buried there are very active in keeping fresh flowers on probably 90 percent of the graves. Would be glad to take pictures if anyone needs that done. I believe that there are still plots available and it is expanding. It also may be known to some as "Snow Cemetery" as Snow Church was in the foreground, and Snow School just up the road and Snow Lake nearby etc. (S. Kennamer, November 1999)

VERGENNES TOWNSHIP - T7N R9W

Cemetery: ALTON CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 2
Street Address: Northeast corner of Lincoln Lake Avenue and 3 Mile Road, Lowell, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Vergennes Township, 10381 Bailey Drive, Lowell, MI 49331 (616) 897-5671, (616) 897-5674. Office Hours: MWF 9-3.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RS), ES1995 - A - F,   G - P,   Q - Z
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: KRUM CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Krum-Blanding Cemetery, Crum Cemetery, Yerkus Cemetery, Yerkes Cemetery
Section: 32
Street Address: South side of Vergennes Street between Parnell and Cumberland Avenues, Lowell, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Vergennes Township, 10381 Bailey Drive, Lowell, MI 49331 (616) 897-5671, (616) 897-5674. Office Hours: MWF 9-3.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.

Cemetery: FALLASBURG CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Fallas Cemetery
Section: 24
Street Address: Covered Bridge Road, south of McPherson Street, Lowell, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Vergennes Township, 10381 Bailey Drive, Lowell, MI 49331 (616) 897-5671, (616) 897-5674. Office Hours: MWF 9-3.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (RA), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Extant.  Small cemetery located in the Village of Fallasburg.  An older burial grounds.  Possibly more burials with no stones.  It is kept in good condition by the Fallasburg Historical Society.

Cemetery: FOXES CORNERS CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Fox's Corners Cemetery
Section: 34
Street Address: East side of Lincoln Lake Avenue south of Vergennes Street, Lowell, MI
Ownership: Township.
Owner Contact Information: Vergennes Township, 10381 Bailey Drive, Lowell, MI 49331 (616) 897-5671, (616) 897-5674. Office Hours: MWF 9-3.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RA), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: This is an older cemetery.  Many of the stones are no longer readable.

Cemetery: SAINT MARY'S CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Catholic Cemetery
Section: 34
Street Address: East side of Lincoln Lake Avenue south of Vergennes Street, Lowell, MI.
South of Foxes Corners Cemetery.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (RS), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic.
Description: This cemetery is located south of Fox's Corners Cemetery. A newer Catholic cemetery.

Cemetery: BAILEY CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): Bailey-Vergennes Cemetery, Vergennes Cemetery.
Section: 20
Street Address: NE corner of Parnell Avenue and Bailey Drive, Lowell, MI
Ownership: Township. Vergennes Township, 10381 Bailey Drive, Lowell, MI 49331 (616) 897-5671, (616) 897-5674. Office Hours: MWF 9-3.
Transcriptions: DAR1926 (TVP), ES1995
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Unknown.
 

WALKER TOWNSHIP - T7N R12W
 (Part is in the City of Grand Rapids and part the City of Walker)

Cemetery: ACHIM CEMETERY (Sign  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): Ahavas Israel Cemetery, Ahavis Achim Cemetery
Section: 14
Street Address: West side of Garfield Avenue north of Richmond Street., Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (RK), 1983. Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (1), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Jewish
Description: This cemetery is right next to Freedom Lithuanian Cemetery on Garfield Avenue NW. Hilly terrain, trees and paved road throughout. Utility building. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: BLOOD CEMETERY NOW CALLED HOLY CROSS CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): White Cemetery, Polish Cemetery, now Holy Cross Cemetery
Section: 15
Street Address: NE corner of Walker Avenue and Richmond Street, 2000 Walker NW, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: American Legion.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: None reported.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook.
History: Part of the Holy Cross Cemetery.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: See Holy Cross.

Cemetery: BROOKLAWN CEMETERY (Sign, View, View 2)
Alternative Name(s): Brooklyn Cemetery
Section: 4
Street Address: West side of Walker Avenue, south of 4 Mile Road, 3455 Walker Avenue NW, Walker, MI
Ownership: Association.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1925 (DM), 1968, 1984, 1999ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (3,12,15,24), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Fence on three sides, side fronting the road is open entire length. No gate, "driveway" is an overgrown two-track, no-turnaround in the cemetery, but visitors can park on the shoulder of Walker Ave. Sign says "Brooklawn Cemetery." No buildings, but several large trees. There is a mix of old stones, "re-done" stones and new stones. Several broken stones. There are more burials than stones. There are also some very large upright stones: Hilton, Munro, and Allen, to name a few; and some very ornate stones: Caywood, Downer, Williams. Active. (D. Manni, November 1999.)

Cemetery: GREENWOOD CEMETERY (Sign  - View - Maps)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 14
Street Address: 1401 Leonard Street, Grand Rapids, MI. North side of Leonard Street and east of Walker Avenue.
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: G. R. Cemeteries - Main Office, 2530 Kalamazoo SE., Grand Rapids, MI  49507;  Ph# (616) 831-1600.  They will do lookups.
Transcriptions: DAR1930, 1960, 1982,  2001-DM
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,18,21), DAR.
History: Chapman 1881, Baxter 1891, Fisher 1918. Original purchase of 20 acres was made in February 1859 from Daniel and Sophronia Bush. In December 1860, it was dedicated as a city cemetery even though it was located in the township of Walker. Platted by Dr. Wenzel Blumrich. On June 1, 1883, the area of the cemetery was doubled through a purchase of twenty acres from the estate of Daniel Bush for $4000. In December 1889, the balance of forty acres was purchased for $6000. Total of 79 acres, with an estimated 22,131 burials. Records go back to 1880, a fire destroyed the building that contained earlier records. Cemetery averages 225 burials annually. (Lydens 1966)
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Very large, well manicured, tree filled and spacious on very hilly ground. Many monuments and headstones. Two entrances: one on Leonard St. and the other on Bristol Ave. Bristol Ave. entrance easier access due to traffic. Paved road leads throughout. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

Cemetery: HOLY CROSS CEMETERY (Sign, Mary Gregory Stone)
Alternative Name(s): Polish Catholic Cemetery, White Cemetery
Section: 15
Street Address: North side of Richmond Street, east of Walker Avenue. 
2000 Walker Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504, (616) 453-1636.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address.
Transcriptions: DAR1942 (DM), 1983. Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (11v3,12,27), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Well maintained and groomed with lots of trees and hills. One entrance on Walker Ave. Oldest part appears to be right at Walker and Richmond corner of cemetery. Found several headstones lying in ground partially buried but still readable. This section is most likely the former White and Blood Cemeteries. Large monuments and what appeared to be a chapel. Paved road leads thoughout. Large and expanding. Active.

Cemetery: LITHUANIAN FREEDOM CEMETERY (Sign  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): Lithuanian Cemetery
Section: 14
Street Address: West side of Garfield Avenue, north of Richmond Street, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: Association.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (RA), MG1999
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR, Margaret Gillis.
History: Unknown.
2007 NEW INFORMATION - The cemetery was formed about 1905 by a non-religious group of Lithuanians.  In the beginning it was a very anti-Catholic group wanting nothing to do with the church.  Some of them came to the U. S. that way (they were characterized as Bolsheviks), others had fights with priests or fellow Catholics which left them alienated.  Many of these wounds have healed over the years.  The cemetery is now located in the City of Grand Rapids due to annexation.  The Lithuanian Freedom Cemetery is cared for by: Rosedale Memorial Park, O-50 Lake Michigan Drive, Grand Rapids, MI  49534.  Phone # (616) 453-2411.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Lithuanian
Description: This cemetery is located next to Washington Park Cemetery on Garfield Avenue NW. Small, maintained cemetery. Paved road leads into cemetery turning into small dirt road throughout the cemetery. Two small buildings, trees. Appears active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)

There are some obvious graves that are unmarked at the Lithuanian Freedom Cemetery, but I have no way of knowing who is buried there. I haven't found out who the caretakers are to ask for more information. Lithuanian Freedom Cemetery is separated from Sts. Peter and Paul Cemetery by a fence. They back into each other so their entrances are on two different streets. (M. Gillis, April 2000)
 

Cemetery: MILL CREEK CEMETERY 
Alternative Name(s): Lamoreaux Cemetery
Section: 1
Street Address: 3599 West River Road, near Bertha Street, Walker, MI. Not visible from West River Road.
Ownership: Association.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DM) 1999ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Most of it is atop a hill. When you turn onto Bertha, there is a two-track almost immediately on the south side, which was chained shut. A set of concrete stairs is less than 1/10 of a mile up the road on the south side. There is another two-track on the south side after the stairs, you could drive up to it, but there was no where to turn around. The most recent burial was from the 1980s. A few graves had plastic flowers on them. The cemetery was very overgrown with myrtle and even some weeds, and for the most part appeared to be a little neglected. No fence or gate, no sign of any type, no buildings. Many large trees and a few shrubs. The cemetery actually appears to be wooded. No broken or buried stones, but there were graves without stones. Many weathered stones, also some newer ones. Notable large and/or ornate stones: Lamoreaux, Ramsdale and Hachmuth. The Hachmuth stone had a large upright stone with several smaller markers, and this plot only was fenced in with a small picket fence. (D. Manni, November 1999.)

Cemetery: MOUNT CALVARY CEMETERY (  Sign, View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 23
Street Address: 1362 Leonard Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI. South side of Leonard Street and east of Walker Avenue.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (DM) Microfilmed records available through LDS.   2013: ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Baxter 1891, Mt. Cavalry, Lydens 1966: Purchased on May 3, 1882 for $1750 from Mary E. Colyer by Rev. J. D. Ehrenstaussen, pastor of St. Mary's Church.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic, some Polish burials from Saint Adelbert's.
Description: Across the street from Greenwood. Entrance on Leonard St. Beautiful, well maintained hilly tree filled grounds with lots of monuments and headstones. Paved road leads throughout. Large cemetery. Active.

Cemetery: RIVER BEND CEMETERY (Sign  -  View  -  View 2)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 6
Street Address: SW corner of Wilson Avenue at River Bend Drive NW, Walker, MI
Ownership: Association.
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1927 (DM), MT1975, 1999 ES 
Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,30), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Cemetery is fenced, no gates; main entry on Riverbend St. (north side of cemetery) underneath a black metal arch that says "Riverbend Cemetery," a two-track goes into the cemetery under the arch; there is also an opening in the fence on the south side of the cemetery by Riverbend Baptist Church parking lot. Another two-track runs outside the cemetery fence on the west side of the cemetery and connects the church parking lot & Riverbend St. No signs except the arch sign, and no buildings. There are several tall trees including pine, and several overgrown bushes, also a few shrubs. Many of the old stones are broken, and there are more burials than stones. There is a mix of old, weathered stones and new stones. Notable stones: A very ornate, cylinder-type stone monument bearing the name "Gridley," also an elaborate stone monument for Pelton. There are several spire-type monuments, Wheeler & Snyder are two of the families that have these monuments in their family plots. Active. (D. Manni, November 1999)

Cemetery: SAINTS PETER AND PAUL LITHUANIAN CATHOLIC CEMETERY (Entrance, View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 14
Street Address: East side of Preston Ave. north off Richmond St. NW, Grand Rapids, Michigan
Ownership: Religious - Lithuanian Catholic
Owner Contact Information: Unknown.
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (RA), MG1999 - Military, MG/DM 2000 - Complete
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (1), DAR, Margaret Gillis.
History: Unknown.
2007 NEW INFORMATION

SS Peter & Paul Church was established in 1904.  For the first ten years of parish life, parishioners were buried in the other two Catholic cemeteries (Mount Calvary and Holy Cross) on the west side of Grand Rapids.  In 1914, two men from the parish supervised the purchase and development of land on Preston Avenue for a parish cemetery, which has been used and maintained ever since.  The cemetery is now located in the City of Grand Rapids due to annexation.  About 2005, the care of and record keeping for the cemetery was turned over to the Diocesan Cemetery Office.  All records can be found at : Holy Cross Cemetery, 2000 Walker Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504.
Ph# (616) 453-1636.

Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic, Lithuanian
Description: Major intersection Preston Ave. and Richmond street. This cemetery property runs up against Washington Park, Ahavis Achim and Freedom Lithuanian Cemeteries. Paved road leads into and throughout this hilly cemetery with some trees and many large monuments, statues and a small chapel. Utility building. Sign at entrance states 1914. Assume this means it was established that year. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999)
Backs up against Lithuanian Freedom, although each cemetery has a different entrance. (M. Gillis, April 2000.) North of Washington Park Memorial Gardens.

INFORMATION:  For Lithuanian People:
Jonas Tomas Gerulis
4146 Camden Rd.
Fayetteville, NC  28306-9304
PH: (910) 429-2902

Jonas is the chairperson for the Lithuanian Global Genealogical Society
www.lithuaniangenealogy.org
He is currently working on consolidating several cemetery listings into one database.  This includes Sts Peter and Paul Cemetery and Freedom Cemetery listings in Walker, Michigan.  You may contact him at the address or phone number above, if you can, or care to, contribute to this project. 
 

Cemetery: WASHINGTON PARK MEMORIAL GARDENS (Sign  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): None reported.
Section: 14
Street Address: 1205 Richmond Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504, (616) 363-3719.
Ownership: Corporation.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address.
Transcriptions: DAR1930 (DM), M2000 (DCM, MM)
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Unknown.
2007 NEW INFORMATION
This cemetery is now part of the City of Grand Rapids due to annexation.
The care of it and the record keeping are now done by:
Rosedale Memorial Park, O-50 Lake Michigan Dr., Grand Rapids, MI  49534
Ph# (616) 453-2411
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Entrance is right at Garfield Ave. and Richmond Street. Large and active cemetery with some hilly terrain and trees. Office located at the entrance. No posted hours seen. Paved road throughout. Well maintained. Special note: a small area sectioned off with manicured shrubs and a beautiful statue with small inscription stones in ground -- this area is called "Babyland." (R. Aungst)

Cemetery: WHITE CEMETERY
Alternative Name(s): White-Walker Cemetery, now Holy Cross Cemetery
Section: 15
Street Address: North or Richmond Street, east of Walker Avenue.
2000 Walker Avenue and Richmond Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: City of Walker, 4243 Remembrance Road NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504, (616) 453-6311, FAX (616) 791-6881. Office Hours: M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: DAR1928 (DT) Microfilmed records available through LDS.
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: Now part of the Holy Cross Cemetery.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: See Holy Cross.
 

WYOMING TOWNSHIP - T6N R12W
(Part is in the City of Grand Rapids, part the City of Grandville and part the City of Wyoming) 

Cemetery: RESURRECTION CEMETERY (Gate  -  View)
Alternative Name(s): Catholic Cemetery, St. Andrew's Cemetery
Section: 23
Street Address: East side of Clyde Park Avenue, north of 44th Street.
 4100 Clyde Park Avenue SW, Wyoming, MI 49509, (616) 531-9320.
Ownership: Religious.
Owner Contact Information: Same as street address.
Transcriptions: DAR1929 (RK) Microfilmed records available through LDS.  2012
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12), DAR.
History: The northwest corner of Resurrection is incorporated from an old cemetery called St. Andrew's. Most headstones in this cemetery are from around the turn of the century.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: Catholic.
Description: This is a modern, extremely well maintained Catholic cemetery located directly across the street from St. John Vianney Catholic Church. A fully staffed office which maintains all the Catholic cemetery records in the city is open during normal business hours. This cemetery is laid out in sections each with its own name. Some trees, monuments, statues, etc. The main entrance is a beautiful stone wall and columns which match the office building. Paved road leads throughout. Little Sisters of the Poor and the Dominican Sisters are also buried here. A very park-like setting. Active. (R. Aungst, November 1999.)

Cemetery: GRANDVILLE CEMETERY (Sign)
Alternative Name(s): Wyoming Cemetery, Wyoming Township Cemetery
Section: 17
Street Address: South side of Prairie Street, halfway between Wilson and Ivanrest Avenues. 3439 Prairie Street, Grandville, Michigan
Ownership: City.
Owner Contact Information: City of Grandville, 3195 Wilson Avenue SW, Grandville, MI 49418-1299, (616) 531-3030, FAX (616) 530-4984. Office Hours M-F 8-5.
Transcriptions: 1900-1905, 1929, 1981
Lookups Available:  Karen Anderson will do lookups Kande41236@aol.com   
We have the
 DAR1929 .  Feb, 2013-ES
Record Sources: Compendium, Sourcebook (12,19,31), DAR.
History: Unknown.
Religious, Ethnic Affiliation: None reported.
Description: Beautiful cemetery. There is a large wooden sign at the entrance. Further down the dust track that is the entrance road is the cemetery office. The cemetery is divided into the "old" and "new" sections. The old section is on the right when viewed from the road, and has many more trees, and is the location of many pioneers' graves. Also within the "old" section is a statue remembering Kent County war veterans. The "new" section is very active, mostly treeless, and has many plots with flowers and remembrances. (J. Godwin, November 1998)


Compilation copyright © 1999-2001 by the Kent County Michigan GenWeb Project. All other elements copyright their original creators or submitters.
USGENWEB NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, this information may be freely used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on the document or any copied material. These electronic pages may not be reproduced in any format for profit or without due credit to the Kent County Michigan GenWeb Project.
URL: http://kent,migenweb.net/cemeteries/index.html 
Created: 31 October 1999
Contact County Coordinator:  evlynsaw@comcast.net